More winter wonderland stuff: Frozen lake fieldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

The first day of the year was beautiful and met with fresh snow that painted the scenery fully white (you might see the difference between the two first pictures), so I of course went taking more pictures to capture it. It was so cloudy all the time that it seemed like the sky and the snow field on top of the lake were one.

Technically speaking, the lighting levels vary with the pictures because I was trying different settings, but I don't bother fixing the lighting levels to be consistent between each other.

DSC_6945.jpg
Btw, this is the place where we shot the fireworks – you can see the marks on the snow.

DSC_6551.jpg

DSC_6950.jpg

DSC_6941.jpg

DSC_6942.jpg

DSC_6951.jpg

DSC_6946.jpg

I also took some experimental long exposure photos at night (30 second shutter speed). The pictures ended bit blurry which is probably due to having to focus full manual mode due to auto-focus not working in the dark. These are just jpgs, but I also have raw files of them, so I could play around with editing, though I don't have anything to edit them with, like Lightroom etc.

DSC_6767.JPG

DSC_6766.JPG

With the latter one I at least managed to accidentally get the focus on the snow right in front which creates a nice contrast with the blur background.

Sort:  

We have very different ideas about what "winter wonderland" means. Yours is far more...wintery.
Excellent shots! The last one is simply amazing, I love it! :)

We have very different ideas about what "winter wonderland" means.

Well, it is Finland after all :P

Seasons are topsy turvy here, we are lacking snow completely this Winter, finally for the first time is turning cold now, but I wonder when I'll see the ethereal white cover the fields.

That's a shame, hopefully it'll soon be a real winter there, too.

if you want night sky to be in focus you can Autofocus on some distant light ( street light, car light, whatever ). Then you switch to manual focus so the camera won't try to focus again when firing and there you go, you got infinity in focus.

The easiest way is to buy a lens with a focus indicator so you always know how far is your focus. These lenses are generally more expensive.

if you want night sky to be in focus you can Autofocus on some distant light ( street light, car light, whatever ). Then you switch to manual focus so the camera won't try to focus again when firing and there you go, you got infinity in focus.

I tried to do it something those lines, but I didn't manage, perhaps I didn't have an appropriate settings. I'll have to try it again sometime.

Am I just too Canadian or am I normal for immediately wishing I was playing hockey on that ice? Awesome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, well I'm sure that being Canadian helps with getting that picture in your head.

Exquisite pic the last-but-one

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, even I might prefer the last one :P

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.119 which ranks you at #3209 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3206).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83