Another Abandoned Gas Station (with post-processing)

in #photography6 years ago

I encountered this abandoned/unused gas station near Heinola, on day 32 of my cycling tour.

When I was putting together the pictures, I noticed I can actually easily adjust the pictures within the gallery software with few simple parameters available: lighting, color, clarity and vignette. I realized I could do surprisingly lot with only those and tweak them to my liking.

DSC_0268 4.JPG
This is the station. Here I reduced lighting made it almost black and white – which works fine with this – but I kinda like it with just a bit color in there. I think I also increased clarity little.

DSC_0269 2.JPG
Here reducing the color makes the desk stand out nicely.

DSC_0278 2.JPG
Unfortunately I couldn't get inside because it was locked – not completely abandoned as somebody still owns it and wishes to sell it.

DSC_0271 2.JPG
Here I just reduced lighting and added clarity.

DSC_0274 2.JPG
Here I actually added color to make the different shades of brown to stand out.

DSC_0273 2.JPG

DSC_0272 2.JPG
Here I reduced the color little and ramped clarity to max – it really highlights the effect that the reflection from the window creates.

DSC_0277 2.jpg
Continuing with the theme of reducing color almost to B&W, but not quite.

DSC_0279 2.jpg
More peaking inside... Finger got on the way, happens a lot.

DSC_0280 2.JPG
Went full B&W with this one and reduced lighting.

DSC_0282 2.JPG
In most pictures I usually added some clarity, but here I reduced clarity to the minimum, and it works perfectly on this particular shot. Heh, my finger got on the away again, on the top left corner, but you may have not even realized it because I added the vignette effect to the max.

DSC_0284 3.jpg
The view from the back. Reduced color and lighting, and added clarity.

Sort:  

Halloween is coming!! and that gives the vibe !
Glad to find you're out there and having fun 😊

I'm not exactly "out there" anymore – I came back home two weeks ago from the cycling trip. Though in a week I'll be out there again, heading to Steemfest :D

FUN!!! Hopefully, you will meet guy and anomad!

I'm meeting them 100% – we're all going to accommodate under the same AirBnb house!

No freaking way!! I hope they won't drown you in palinka xD

Yeah, lol, have to keep my eyes open, and mouth shut 😂

Definitely looks like a scene from a horror movie. Friday the 13th comes to mind

Yeah, luckily Michael Myers didn't live there :D

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.773 which ranks you at #4795 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 44 places in the last three days (old rank 4751).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 405 contributions, your post is ranked at #197.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94