Seeking Out Australian Native Orchids #26

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

My almanac reminded me that it is 2 years since I started photographing orchids in the Blue Mountains. What a great journey. My early photos are OK but not great. I have learned a lot since then

Today's ride was a simple training ride to Apple Tree Bay and aiming to check out if Spotty orchid along the road is flowering yet. We have had some interesting temperature variations from day to day - some days in the mid 30s C (high 80s F) and others a full 10 C lower. Those hot days are not good for orchids.

Sometimes finding the orchids is really easy. Here is an example of a new location. I am just pedaling along watching the roadside. One leaf close to the ground, a long stem with no leaves and a flash of burgundy.

This is the lowest down the hill I have seen this particular species. The seeds have just come along the roadway with the rain and found a new spot to find root. There are some rudimentary storm drains here - so the roadway becomes the waterway when the rain is heavy.

Cow Orchid (Cryptostylis Subulata).

I checked across the road from this sighting because I figured the water would cross the road here. I saw a nice colony of Bonnet Orchids and one orchid which is not yet flowering but is probably not a Bonnet Orchid. Clues - there is not the distinctive purple backed leaf on the ground and the bud is a different shape.

I am hoping it is a Horned Orchid. I will have to check in a few days. Sorry!! No photos of bonnet orchids here - was out of focus. I made my way up the hill to where Spotty resides. No sign of it or the fungal infected one. Looks like the hot weather got it. That forced a change of plan.

I was just going to ride - now I need to do a walk to check the other Spotty site. Well Spotty is still there and is making progress - the colour purple is showing though better each time and the head is opening out into several buds.

I am pleased I changed plan as it gave me a chance to follow back along the track to check out the one site I had forgotten last time (#22 in the series). No change here - it is disappointing to find 3 plants close together with 4 stems and not one decent flower. This also means i cannot identify the species.

There is however hope as there two other slightly less developed plants in the area - might find them next time. And I worked out I can access this part of the track by one of the other fire trail access points = quicker to get to from where I can park my bicycle. Now the walk back yielded some nice finds.

December is the month the eucalyptus trees shed their bark in readiness for the heat of summer. Maybe it is the early heat that stresses them out. They do add to the beauty of the surroundings. I love my National Park on the doorstep.

I found a new site along the track for what I think is a Rosy Hyacinth Orchid - the stem colour is distinctive. There was one on the other side of the track but with buds all withered in the heat.

And I did find a new bonnet orchid site with better light for photographs - it did take a bit of scrambling to get into the bush to take the photo.

Bonnet orchid (Cryptostylis Erecta). And to end the photo series I found a great backdrop for this photo - Christmas decorations in the bush

The almanac reminder is prodding a new plan - head to the Blue Mountains to revisit the beginning of the journey. Maybe take the train there and cycle back.

Note: Photos taken with Canon PowerShot G16 on December 5, 2016. Facebook post of my photos from December 2, 2014.

Sort:  

I like the narrative as well as the photos. It makes me feel like I was there with you.

Thanks. I have been writing journals of all my cycling trips for years now and now for my photography. The best I can achieve is someone says "I feel I was there with you". One day maybe you will be. Until then I will take you with me.

Nice work. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks and welcome to Steemit. I am follower #6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33