Seeking out Australian Native Orchids #1

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

A week ago I went seeking Australian Native Orchids to photograph for the Steemit Photo Challenge. I do this on my bicycle (well mostly I do - sometimes I walk). Well I did not find any orchids though I did find some other amazing Spring flowers.

I use this as therapy to deal with the bouts of depression that I suffer. The drivers of that are another story. The exercise helps. The beauty of nature helps. The consistency and patterns of nature help. The joy people get from the photographs helps - a lot. 30 to 40 people get joy every time I post a picture.

I went out again on my bicycle riding a road through the nearby National Park that I had ridden in my quest the day before. A quick reminder for spotting Australian Native Orchids.

1. leaf shape is distinctive - normally only one or two and always on the ground. 2. flowers emerge from a long stem 3. a flash of colour.

I spotted items 1 and 2 not one metre off the road hard up against the rocks the road was carved through. I turned around to check it out and this is what I saw - two leaves (shaped like eucalyptus leaves) on the ground and a long stem:


It was a bad news story - the flowers had come and gone - typically they flower only 2 or 3 days. AND I had cycled past that spot twice in the last 3 or 4 days. Well that set my resolve to go looking and I went walking that afternoon in the National Park (it is no more than 400 metres from my front door).

I found plenty of orchid sites - at the foot of trees, up against the rocks - always the same - one or two leaves on the floor. No flower stems forming yet but I know where to seek them out for next time. Here are a few samples - some of the colours are wonderful.



A little disappointing but not really - always a treat to enjoy our National Parks - and great to know that orchid spotting season is on for young and old.

And each time I ride through the National Park I am on the lookout. We are blessed with good road surfaces so I can focus on the bush without worrying about the road. Next day I was blessed by item 3 on the spotters list - a flash of colour (a bluey purple flash) sitting on top of a long stem. The first orchid possibly - needs verification by studying he structure of the flowering parts. An orchid flower has 6 floral parts made up of petals, sepals and a labellum. The next photo shows the flower in all its glory - the first Sun Orchid (Thelymitra Nuda) of the season.

Today I went looking again and found the same orchid - sadly it was a cloudy and cool day and the flowers were not open. [One can cheat by blowing on the flower - sometimes it will open]. As there are many buds, I am sure I will enjoy this one for a few days yet.


A flash of colour and a long stem. This one has two leaves coming from the ground - a bit more shaped like a reed leaf than a eucalyptus leaf

And another bout of depression is kept at bay by getting joy from the outdoors and the exercise and the beauty of nature

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52