You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to photograph the moon

in #photography6 years ago

So... let's say you DON'T have a camera, but DO have a camera on your phone (a really good one)... and a telescope, obviously. Any suggestions on how to take a picture with the phone through the telescope? I'm guessing I need a fancy thing to secure it to the telescope (assuming what I want to do is even possible).

I've googled a bit, but with not too much luck. I was hoping to jimmy-rig it, just to try....

Sort:  

As far as I am aware, there are no attachments that allow you to connect a phone to your telescope. You would have to hold it up to the eye piece yourself as you take a shot. It should work but the quality of the shot will obviously be limited by the phone's capabilities.

You will get some heavy vignetting from the eyepiece as well, but with the moon that's not much of a problem, your biggest challenge will be keeping the phone properly aligned with the eye piece. It is possible, i did it with a pair of binoculars and an iphone once:


IMG_5518.JPG

Jimmy rigging it is probably your best option. If you do, let me know how it works out. I would love to see your results! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65