I'M BROKE! And It's all worth it - First Film Photography event I went to

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Film Folk's Expired Film Day Event last March 18


29178502_1462576320538136_2636947771843674112_n.jpg

Image Source

This was the very first event I went to as a Film Photography enthusiast/hobbyist and I must say that I felt really glad to meet other people with the same passion as mine.
I learned about this event while I was browsing some artwork of my ethusiasts/hobbyist on our facebook group named Lomomanila when I saw Film Folks advertisement about this Expired Film Day. I was not interested at first because I haven't used expired film yet. Fortunately, I have planned on buying some expired film because I've been reading that it's cheap and awesome results can be achieved on using Expired film. So that week I bought some expired film just to test it out and I got some awesome photos. Here are some:


Shot using my Olympus Pen EF using Kodak Ultramax 400, Expiry 2010


Shot using my Olympus Pen EF using Kodak Ultramax 400, Expiry 2010

After which, my interest for shooting expired film was piqued. I decided then to join the said event and hunt for some expired film. The event was supposed to start by 2pm. That was a sunday so there was no traffic so I departed from my house by 1pm. I arrived five minutes past two and saw that the line was already building up. Cheap films were all hoarded by those who lined up first, Lucky them. hehe. Here are some phone snapshots during the event:


Taken by my Samsung Note 3


Taken by my Samsung Note 3

A lot of films where sold on that event both expired and fresh ones. I bought myself four expired films and two fresh ones. I had so much spare money because I didn't want to buy the remaining expired films because they were so expensive. Here are some of the films that were sold on the said event:

20180318_151756.jpg

Some of the fresh films sold on Expired Film Day, Taken by my Samsung Note 3

IMG_20180318_171026_931.jpg

Some of the expired film sold on the said event, Taken by my Samsung Note 3

I decided to look around and checked out the vintage camers for sale. Before I came to the said event I decided not to buy a camera because I had a tight budget, so my mantra before I went there was "Just film, Just Film, Just Film, Just Film..." but after looking around I ended up buying an Olympus MJU Panorama. It was worthit. hahaha. Here are some of the Film Cameras being soldon the said event:



20180318_151700.jpg

All pictures was taken by my Samsung Note 3

The event was celebrated at Shutterspace Studios Katipunan in Quezon City. Here is a picture of the place with what I was able to buy:

IMG_20180318_171026_914.jpg

Taken by my Samsung Note 3


Final Thoughts

I really enjoyed the event because it was the first time I was able to mingle with people who has the same interests as me. Every time at work, people asks questions about this hobby of mine but when I was there, it seemed like what I was doing was normal. I will be joining future events like this and interact more with my co-"Film Photographers". It's awesome to have a community like. I got no money now and I'm BROKE as hell, but it's all worth it. Here is what I hoarded on that event, films, a camera and lot of stickers:

IMG_20180318_184317_112.jpg


Thanks for Reading! Care to Share your thoughts?


carloniere.png

Sort:  

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my bungholio to get polio.

nice shots gurl! mahina ka talaga sa temptations! Hahaha! You should submit an entry about this hobby of yours sa contest ni anomadsoul!!

Yas!! Kaya nga. :( super nakakatemp talaga pag andun ka. Hahaha. Will definitely join that contest. Hahaha.

Great picture! I like it :)
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future :)

gosh.. reminded me of my film-days too! how much was the camera?

Congratulations @carloniere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @carloniere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60