Sphinx Moth Visitor [with short video clip]

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Woke up the other morning to this gorgeous visitor hanging out on the window screen. I believe this is a male because of the pronounced combs on the antennae, but I haven't made a positive identification of the exact species of sphinx moth.


White-lined sphinx moth

I don't believe it is the white-lined sphinx moth, which I have encountered before (no banding / spots of white on the abdomen and wings). Sphinx moths are also commonly known as hummingbird moths, and they are actually about the size of a small hummingbird and have similar flight patterns as they pollinate flowers.


He didn't open his wings so I couldn't see the coloration of the top surface of the hind wings, which is a primary way to identify sphinx moths. This might possibly be a one-eyed sphinx moth because of the single eye-like marking visible from the underside of the wing, although the color pattern around the head is different than the images of one-eyed sphinx moths I saw online. If anyone has a better clue exactly what kind of moth this is, let me know! Encountered in the Utah Valley, Utah, USA.

Sphinx moths are very large insects!

Short Video Clip


Sort:  

Dang, Carl!!! So dope!!!

I have always found moths to be interesting and often pretty insects. I love the 2nd macro shot looking directly down on it. Nifty and interesting post! :)

Thanks, I liked that one compositionally as well :)

Such cool patterns on them and great shots ;)

Yeah it is really crazy how much their fur looks like animal fur with the markings and coloration. Thanks for stopping by :)

My pleasure to visit 😎👍😎

That is one chunky moth!
Very cool to see close up.
Beautiful. :)

Yeah this one has some heft to it :)

someone had to say it ;) LOL

she is actually quite fancy, with all those furred wings and feathered antennaes, like a fancy lady at the opera house. i could easily see giant moths as aliens.

Yes, definitely fancy although this is a gentleman and not a lady :) (for moths in general the pronounced combs on the antennae are a male feature)

aha! i learn something new! :)

He is about as big as he wants to be! Gorgeous detail in your photography too...

Oh my what mighty mustache you have there Mr. supposedly Moth!
That is at the same time really gorgeous but also a little bit creepy I think. :D
I love the second photo you took.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49