Alien Invader - Bull Thistle in Eastern Oregon

in #photography7 years ago

I snapped some pictures of a beautiful bull thistle on the Great Eclipse Camping Trip of 2017. Bull Thistle is not an Oregon native, it is an import from Eurasia. You see it all over the place here though. I have always found this plant to be absolutely stunning. Everything about it. The crazy spiky / hairy leaves and stem, the pineapple-looking flowers and the shock of purple hair which sticks out of the flowers - these guys are an Alien Invader with a capital ALIEN for sure. They make my tentacles vibrate. Alien pride. Represent.

20170821_183105.jpg

20170821_183128.jpg

20170821_183037.jpg

20170821_183101.jpg

20170821_183010.jpg

I have mentioned on here a few times that I have been playing around with the Deep Dream Generator lately.

Bit of shameless self promotion - my best-earning post to date is a piece of art partially made with the Deep Dream Generator - check it out! We are still in the payout period! LOL

I bring this up here because I have made a few images with the Deep Dream Generator using some of these thistle pictures as both a style and as a starting image:

Thistle Playground


nettle pl ayground.jpg
Thistle Playground - Carl Nash

For the Thistle Playground image I trained the neural network in the style of a picture I took of a playground near my house and applied that to a starting image of the thistle. Here is the picture of the playground that I used as the style:

playground.jpg

Thistle Wave


wave nettle dream.jpg
Thistle Wave - Carl Nash

For the Thistle Wave image I started with a public domain picture of a wave from Wiki Commons and trained the neural network in the style of the thistle. Here is the original wave image:
MSP Wve.jpg

Sort:  

I like your real shots, they are magnificent! Thank you for sharing!

@resteem.bot
Resteemed and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post has received a 34.29 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @carlgnash. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 0.60 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @carlgnash. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

good post, with nice picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53