You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hang Gliding from Lookout Mountain

This is the best post i have seen of yours so far! btw, if you are into flying, you need to come to Southern Cali and fly with us at Torrey Pines. I am going on Thursday to get signed off for my P3 #paragliding license. After that I will be able to fly at all the sites regulated by USHPA.
When you guys were over at Look out mountain, did you see any paragliders?

This is my new wing. Its a rook 2

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 7.19.38 AM.png

I was flying dirty in this picture. shhhh. Don't tell.

Sort:  

Looks like fun. I'm not really into that stuff but it does seem enjoyable for the people who are. You should take some pictures or video of your flight and share it with us. It would be cool to see from your perspective.

I didn't see any paragliders while we were there. Just the hanging guys. They must be haters and not like sharing the airspace. Bunch of jerks.

The funny thing is USHPA stands for United States Hangliding, and Paragliding Association. We share the same regulations, we share the same sites, same FAR 103 rules ect. They just don't like us because we can hike up the mountain with our aircraft in a backpack. Not only that but we can launch even when there is no wind. We can turn tighter in thermals and we can land on a dime. I can't tell you how many times I see the hang guy sitting around because the conditions are not good for them, and we go have amazing flights. LOL We are always trying to convert the hang pilots. If you ever wanted to take a tandem, they do them over at Torrey Pines. Here in San Diego. Its like $150 usd. Have a great night my friend.

You are a braver man than I looks like fun, just not for a height phobe like me ... haha ... Cheers ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57