Water & Light

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Most mornings I found my self immersed in the cold, dark ocean in preparation for the sun to rise of over the sea. I use the sun as a natural light source to illuminate the dark and moody ocean. This particular reef break is not for the faint hearted, swells can travel for thousands of kilometres gaining a lot size and momentum before unleashing on the shallow reef. The waves here constantly shape shift as they hit different parts of the reef and look completely different under different conditions and light.
 Burst.jpg
1D2A2592.jpg
1D2A2883.jpg
This major weather event in Australia produced one of the best swells in 80 years. The stormy conditions contrasted with an amazing light show at sunrise created an orange glow reflecting on the waves. These are images from this period, please let me know what you think!
1D2A6070.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Thank you so much!

These are so good - what sort of waterproof housing are you using?

Thanks! For all my wave images, I use an Aquatech and all my diving photos are a Aquatica

Great stuff! I really like the first one but when you spend a little time with that BW it really shines too!

Thanks! I have plenty of B&W images, i'll be sure to post them in the future

No frickin way. These are insane. That first one is just incredible, backlit like that. I love these so much. So much.

Thanks a lot Andrew! Yep, the first one is a personal favourite of mine. Believe it or not the light only lasted for a minute or two, was very lucky to pull that shot off.

Oh I believe it, and I'm not sure if it's "luck". Half of photography is just putting yourself in the position, and the other half is knowledge how to pull it off. You apparently got both parts down pat.

Hahaha! Thanks for the kind words. It honestly means a lot

These are fantastic. My favorites have to be the 2nd one and the last one. Particularly, I love how the 2nd one almost looks like a mountain rather than water. The lighting is excellent, and I can only assume this was during golden hour at either end of the day.

According to the EXIF data in the images, I see you're using a Canon EOS 5DIII (color me jealous, I'm also a Canon user with a couple of 6D's). Out of curiosity, what underwater housing are you using?

Also, please feel free to use my new tag #wwtop5pix alongside the #photofeed tag to increase visibility with me. I have an initiative that pays under-rewarded top-shelf photographers from the earnings of the posts I make. 100% of the liquid SBD belongs to the 5 photographers I feature in each one, and I keep nothing beyond the SP it makes me keep.

Thanks a lot Winston! The size of the wave of the second image almost could have been the size of the mountain was quite insane swimming out amongst those waves. Yes you are right, golden hour - the best hour which can also be the scariest hour plenty of sharks patrol that reef and can be quite scary swimming out in the dark.
Canon 6Ds - Epic. I love how fast they are. All my wave images are used with Aquatech water housing and all my diving photos are used with an Aqutica housing.
I'll be sure to use that Winston, thanks alot for the comment!

Inspiring collection of photographs! what method do you use to get the camera equipment in the water McFarlane ?

Thank you! I use a water housing, all my surfing photographs are shot with Aquatech 5D housing and my underwater photos are shot with a Aquatica 5DS. I've had a few people ask me what gear i'm currently using, I think i'll have to do a post with some photos and why I use it.

Great shots!

Here are some tags you might want to use #surfcommunity #shorebreaksessions #surfing

Thanks a lot Ross! I'll be sure to add them in. Love your work!

Thank you very much!

There's not a lot of action or posts in those tags but what the heck, it's worth a try

The light on that first one ! Amazing.

A personal favourite of mine!

Beautiful shots! Following :)

Thanks a lot Kieran!

Sweet shots, well executed at the right time :)

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72