Golden Silk Orb WeaversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Banana Spider

Scientific Name: Nephila

banana spinder.jpg

Taken on my trip to Costa Rica this past Winter.

They are famous for their strong web, that has been used to make nets for fishing and even used in clothing!

•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,.•:¨¨*

♥ I hope you enjoyed this post, photography done by me, Katie G ♥

If you like insect photography, check out:
GoldenRod Crab Spider ~ Costa Rica Spider

Sort:  

What a wonderful post.upvoted

Thats a great shot, must have taken courage to get that close!

Good photo, it looks so big and dangerous, but it's probably a tiny harmless to humans little thing.

hahaha I know what you mean, some spiders are small, but male banana spiders are about 2 inches big and females can get up to 5 inches. The spiders where so big compared to anything I've seen here in the states!

ugh no thank you! Considering the fact that one was on my back for about 3 minutes while I was working out today not a fan! lol

Are these the same as the ones found in Bali which aren't venomous and can be handled?

yes!! However, I think if they do bite people have a reaction in a bump and light swelling until the next day, as with any insect bite really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48