Film or Digital Photography??steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Big Question

I have both Film and Digital cameras. I started photographing with film cameras a lot more recently, I have a Canon Ae-1 film camera and a Canon Underwater film camera and a Nikon d5500 DSLR camera...

film.JPG

They are all really nice and take great photos but I'd like to know what other photographers think about them both and what they prefer for what reasons.

Do you like having hard negatives at hand or do you prefer the digital versions?

I like having digital, it makes it more convenient for online purposes. I love the feeling of negatives though, shining them in the light, its like the truest form of photography, its nostalgic, to me at least. What do you think??

Is it worth more to you to have it on a negative knowing that it costs more than to keep it on a SD card or external hard drive?

As Cain would say, its not worth it. When we go play in the water I bring the underwater film camera since my other digital one went through the wash & dryer without surviving, and all he can think is $$$ how much it cost to buy the film and then pay for its development.. He's not the only one who thinks about the money, but I feel like I spend the time to make quality photographs that 10 bucks to get it developed isn't so hefty. How do you feel about the costs?

If you prefer film, do you develop your own COLOR and Black & White film?

I've been highly considering doing this myself to cut costs. If you do, how much money does it cost to start up? And if you could tell me after starting costs how much a single roll of film costs you to development?

I feel like film vs digital can be a very opinionated topic, I don't mind opinions but I do prefer them based on factual logical reaosonings.

Can't wait to hear what everyone thinks! <3

Sort:  

Digital, it's easier and seems the way of the future I guess lol

yeah but the data its easier lost in digital, hardrives and SD cards break and then you have nothing,they take up space on the computer too and if you take alot of photos they usually end up on a hard drive. I've read alot of stories of this happening to people. In fact I had an SD card request me to reformat it in order for it to work.. I had already been a week in Costa rica, and it wouldn't work anymore.. Thankfully I had Extra SD cards & I saved the sd card in hopes to get them off before reformatting it. Negatives do not break so easily, and are kind of plasticy, I wouldn't think if water accidentally got on them they would be ruined.

I love shooting in film. My canon AE-1 Program was stolen believe it or not, a couple years back when my house was broken into. I miss that camera and I do believe that some of the best photography I have ever taken was done with that piece. I now have a digital and it takes great photos. It's better for the environment too. However, the variance and surprise of film is gone. All those little nuances, like shooting on a really bright day or the dramatic effects of shadows don't seem to reveal themselves as much in digital. I prefer hard film to digital just as I prefer vinyl over an old console vs mp3s.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95