Making Green coffee turn Brown - it's another Roast Day

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_0484.jpg

Today amongst the multitude of other things I have to do for work, I have been roasting some coffee. First up was Indian Monsooned Malabar - quite a different and unique coffee with a story behind it.

IMG_0480-1.jpg

The color, shape, and size of the beans as well as their aroma and taste are the results of special post-harvest processing. Indian coffee was historically shipped to Europe in wooden sailing vessels, taking four to six months to sail around the Cape of Good Hope before reaching their destinations. Coffee, stored below the water line and kept in a humid atmosphere by moisture seeping through the wood, underwent a form of treatment on its long voyage to market. When the coffee reached Europe, its color had changed from bright green to pale gold and its new crop acidity had disappeared. This "Monsooning" process was later systematically replicated in India with the goal to consistently reproduce the familiar flavor from the historic voyages to the European ports.
Source (https://www.pennineteaandcoffee.co.uk/collections/green-coffee/products/monsoon-malabar-green-coffee-beans-1kg?variant=32193338442)

The Indian Monsoon Malabar favours a light roast to bring out the most flavours, so the green coffee looks like this when taken into First Crack

IMG_0491.jpg

A lovely light brown colour, because of the monsooning process the beans do not keep an even colour - this is an usual feature on Monsoon Malabar roasted coffee.

Next up is a special Costa Rican estate - El Cipres. El Cipres has a diverse range of plant and crop life, with shade provided by Orange, Avocado, Banana, Plantain, Poro, Cedar and Indian Cane, as well as fruit trees that provide food and shelter to native birds of the region. El Cipres is constantly implementing better practices such as regulated shade and controlling weeds and applications of fertilizers in a sustainable manner.

IMG_0481-1.jpg

It's a washed caturra and my customer for this one uses it for espresso - and to get the most taste and flavours through milky drinks like cappuccino and latte likes it roasted dark to get the coffee flavour through the milk (we tried various roast styles when sampling this coffee with them and into second crack when it is dark and oily worked best for their needs.)

IMG_0493-1.jpg

Quite a difference from the Indian coffee, only a minute difference in roast time and when you get to first crack for some coffees the difference between light, dark and burnt can be just seconds away - no time to look away when you are roasting coffee.

IMG_0489.jpg

And the view from above, green coffee ready to drop in the roaster, and brown roasted coffee cooling in the tray beneath.

Pictures taken today with my iPhone 7 Plus, if you want to follow more of my coffee roasting stories let me know - leave a comment - do you drink coffee, prefer light or dark roasts - at home or prefer to enjoy it in a coffee shop?

Sort:  

An interesting read from you as always my good man :)

Thanks Bob!

Hey there he is!!!! I just mentioned you on his other post saying I missed seeing you around!!! You could post some of your YT vids here or even post some on https://dtube.video/

I enjoy coffee, but would be shamed by you traditionalists. I fill my mug with milk then add a spoon of instant coffee and three spoons of Splenda... That's an Old Guy mug LOL

Thanks Paul, I would stick with your method - once you get into brewing ground coffee there are a ton of gadgets to add to your kitchen!

Thank you for the peak into the roasting process. What a beautiful art! Coffee has been such a wonderful part of my everyday for my entire adult life. I have been getting into espresso and specialty coffee this past year. It is one of the most surprising, complex worlds. I'm so grateful to have stumbled on it. Great post!

Thank you for dropping by - in fact I am quite honoured because I have been loving your posts. Roasting coffee can be such a bind, I have to cup (taste sample) every roast I do to ensure it matches the taste profile I am aiming for in the particular coffee origin I have roasted. I have plenty more coffee related posts planned - although I will be spreading them out to keep my posting diverse.

Thanks for sharing friend Up&Resteem

Oh! That must be such a good smelling job!

Quite often people say it smells a bit like burn toast when I am roasting, when you drop the dark roast out it gives off ALOT of smoke - even with the cooling suction pulling air over the beans.

I used to drink so much coffee it was a bad thing. Like waay too much... people would be like 'theres mo such thing' but then I'd tell them how much and they'd be like nevermind that's too much 😉 But slowing down and actually enjoying/savouring coffee, like most things in life, is much better.
*cue cool-beer-guy-meme8 I don't drink coffee every day but when I do, I drink lighter roasts... higher in caffeine that way. Maybe I should dabble more in the world of darker roasts because I know how much many people seem to love them. Maybe I am missing out? Quite often Yerba Mate is in my cup however as that is a big competitor for stimulant beverage of choice nowadays. That or actually drinking ... gasp... water. Which I know ain't really in the same thing but being dehydrated can leave you feeling tired so I guess in some ways it is. Anyways, I know one thing... the fresher the roast, the better the coffee. Nothing beats freshly roasted coffee! Seems like you got that under control! As your name would imply! 😎

Thank you for the extensive reply, if you want higher caffeine look for Robusta coffees, or blends with a higher Robusta content. Darker roasts taste stronger because more coffee oil comes to the outside of the bean.

This looks very tasty, I like coffee especially in the morning :)

Greetings from
Djangos story @juicypop

Thanks @juicypop , just make sure you keep it away from Django or he will be taking you on very long fast walks!

Thanks for the reply, I will be taking a look at your posts very soon as well.

Thanks so much then be prepared to be blown away It's a toe curler!!!

My pleasure dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48