I'm a progressive.. A moral progressive

in #photography6 years ago

20180520_161707.jpg

Busy Weekend

Hola, Amigos de Steemit

After a busy weekend down in San Antonio, it's good to be back home and back to some "free" time to write. Though it was a good exercise in my language practice with my spanish-speaking family, the grueling pace of travel and events over the weekend has me relieved to be back.

After catching up on some much needed rest Monday afternoon, I made every effort to get right back to my recent drive at progress on shaping up our house and my personal organization.

Back to Business

Cataloging some basic principles that I have, with the help of some instrumental mentorship and various literature-laden sources, deduced to be of prime importance:

Responsibility in Everything

Some might call it Extreme Ownership, (coincidentally, a book by Jocko Willinck and Laif Babin 😁) put simply, personal responsibility. That is, taking ownership of your hand in every outcome of any situation that you are part of, whether physically present or detached from.

Humility

Being humble is a dreadfully daunting task to this 26 year old, proud, intensely opinionated man... Good. Challenge accepted. Humbly, of course. 😆 I don't think humility needs any more explanation, so I'll finish with my own personal touch; being humble is about much more than being meek. You can simultaneously be a powerful warrior for virtue and be humble. The key lies in tact and wisdom. Another subject entirely, we'll leave humility at that.. For now.

Presence of Mind

This just means being aware. When you are aware of others, you prepare yourself to be empathetic and understanding to others' situations and much more likely to practice humility and be a person with qualities to be emulated. When I'm self-aware, I tend to be more open to criticisms and more likely to make the necessary changes. I find Presence of Mind to be one of my favorite (and least favorite!) qualities that I have been striving for lately.

If you're interested in joining me on my journey towards greater moral progress, feel free to reach out to me here or privately on the discord app, @burntoblog6465, I'm happy to accept all comments, suggestions, and criticisms!

I'd love to hear your stories and instances where you were able to put your personal progress goals into action.

Tune in later for my article on humility.
Until next time, #carryon before you become #carrion.

A picture taken on my way home, driving on the north side of Austin. @originalworks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22