WTF is this? Unique looking thing - In Night Photography #12

I found this weird looking creature , according to @lemouth , I can categorize them in #science

Isn't entomology a science? As a careful reader of all articles posted in the science category, I do not think that the 'science' tag is a mistag for this post. Maybe could you develop further why you think this is a mistag?

I can't categorize this little thing, it only have three legs.
According to Entomology , to qualify class as an #insects , they have to be six legged.
If they only have 3 legs, what do you call them?
So I put this in #science for new discovery in entomology


Night Photography - Original By @bullionstackers
Camera Iphone 6 with Lantern Light.
All Copyright Reserve


If you Like it, Love It

Follow and Visit my Page at @bullionstackers

Sort:  

It's a young sabre grasshopper.
Needs to develop wings etc
Second jumper is just hidden in perspective.

Wow, how right you are, good answers!

I just clicked follow on you, because if you know that much off the top of your head, who knows what else you understand.

Yes it's correct Papa-pepper, i didn't know the speciesname, there is still another step in it's growth, without the sabre, in Dutch they are Sabres, but in English it seems saddle-backs.

Note that in the other article, there was more text than in yours. Here, you are basically only posting the photography. Therefore, it is not fair to compare. There was really a scientific content in the other article while here, it is more questionable.

Well, I put in #science for unique finding.
Perhaps the science people can find me some answer.
Tag #science according to you in #entomology because it is related.

To me, entomology is a science. But this is my opinion. It is also the wikipedia definition.

6 legs = insect
3 legs = half insect :-)

see my link for answer
I like that half bit

http://www.nhm.ac.uk/natureplus/message/15617

Please see link ^^^
After curious , I when and do some research.
Here my finding, look similar to my photo.

Six Legged are called Cricket as an insect
Three Legged are called Wicket ( as in Cricket - Wicket )

This is beginning to sound like the game that the commonwealth play.

It lost its second springer by the looks. And its wings. I would think it's a grasshopper or locust but either injured or mutant from some monsatan crap or something.

see my link for answer

I've seen many varieties of hopping creatures that look similar to that too!

@nin0000 seems to have given you the correct info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97