Why I ditched my Canon 5d Mark3 for a Fuji X-T2

I traded in my beloved 5d Mark3 and purchased a Fuji Xt-2. I have never been happier. First let me begin by saying that the Canon 5D mark3 was and still is a great camera. Amazingly fast auto focus, great dynamic color range and not to mention the access to Canon’s notorious line of L glass. I usually used this camera for portraits, weddings and the occasional landscape.

So Why did i trade for Fuji XT-2?

There were two main things about my Canon system i began to grow tired of. The first was the anti aliasing filter that Canon decided to put in the 5d Mark3. Being that the mark3 is a very video centric camera, it means that it needed a reliable filter to prevent moire issues. What is positive about a filter on the video side was a negative on the still photography side. I felt like the filter caused my photographs to come out softer than what I preferred. When sided with my buddies 5d mark1, I couldn’t help but notice that the images came out noticeably sharper on the mark1. This was crazy to me until i started doing further research and realized that other people had noticed the same thing and some of them even voided the warranty and removed the filter.

The second gripe I had with the Canon 5d Mark3 was the weight and bulkiness especially when fitting lenses such as the L series 85mm. and the 70-200. I’m 6”3 and consider myself a strong guy. Its not that i couldn’t hold the camera. It was the fact that i found myself not wanting to take it certain places i went due to the inconvenience of the size. For example, quick walks around the block, basic drives to the grocery store or even certain family events. I like the idea of taking my camera everywhere I go but I just didn’t feel like lugging around that big frame along with 3 huge ass lenses all the time. I started researching smaller alternatives. Not willing to compromise picture quality and camera performance for size and portability, I decided to just live with my setup… That is until I heard the Fuji Xt-2 announced.

The XT-2 seemed like everything I had wanted in a camera and more. First of all, Fuji cameras all together have stunning dynamic color range and contrast. Having not looked into Fuji before, I couldn’t believe the type of photos these small cameras were turning out. The shots were so artistic and crisp. Then I came to find that Fuji does not use anti aliasing filters in there cameras and that they have developed other methods to get rid of moire issues. Looking at image sharpness on even the XT-1 had me shocked and wanting to instantly ditch my 5d. Fuji also stepped up there auto focusing system from the X pro 2 and seemed to be going for a more professional audience when developing the X-T2. This camera comes loaded with 4k capabilities and even has an option for F log when using an external device. The burst rate on the X-T2 can get as high as 14fps when used with the battery grip. The fast auto focus plus the fps potential meant that this camera could even be used to shoot sports! I’m not much of a sports shooter or a videographer but i thought that both these features were impressive and a big step up from what I had on my 5d Mark3. Not to mention the “famous” Fuji dials that make you feel like your shooting a classic film camera and not operating a computer that takes pictures. All of these features caused me to save and make sure that i had enough to get the camera when it came out.

Its been almost 6 months since I've made the switch and I can honestly say that I do not miss my 5d one bit. It was good while it lasted but with my Fuji I find myself taking my camera places I never would of before resulting in more actual pictures being taken. I even sealed the deal and got rid of all my L glass to buy more Fuji gear. It really wasn’t too hard of a decision once I saw how much of a disappointment the 5D Mark4 was, especially for how long Canon had to develop it. Im loving the sharpness and contrast that i get in all my pictures now and would not trade it for the world. At first I was worried about how the Fujinon glass quality would hold up but I immediately loved the results I got with the 35mm. and my 16mm. The auto focus is parallel if not better than the mark3 and the dual SD card slots are a huge bonus. All in all it is safe to say that i will be shooting with Fuji for years to come. For more Fuji XT-2 examples go to instagram.com/brycejacksonphotography

35947309055_92fc3c8277_o.jpg
35839301771_678feb1ac6_o.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32