Flood of 2018 Update

in #photography7 years ago

There's supposed to be a field on the left!


Fullscreen capture 2262018 53335 PM.bmp.jpg

A barge sits along the Ohio River, waiting for the locks and dam to reopen. To the left of the treeline is a large field. Fish were jumping all over. It should begin to resemble a field again in a few days.

Our rivers are still swollen today. I ended up being late for work because the road I take was underwater. I had to make a long detour just to find dry ground, and I'd call it barely dry. Another few inches and the water would cover those roads as well!

I had problems with a memory shortage on my Phantom 4 today. I'll try and get some better shots tomorrow.


Fullscreen capture 2262018 55238 PM.bmp.jpg

Floodwaters creep towards homes in Cannelton, Indiana USA. They lucked out this time. Other spots weren't so fortunate.

The water here is usually hundreds of yards away from these homes. Other parts of my county are submerged completely. Luckily there's been no water rescues or fatalities caused by the flooding, but a young mother unfortunately lost her life on the interstate because of the heavy rainfall. She lost control of her car and it flipped 7 or 8 times, ultimately throwing her from the car and into a field. Her 11 year old son survived. Please wear your seatbelts at all times while driving. Your chances of survival in a crash are much better that way.


Fullscreen capture 2262018 61804 PM.bmp.jpg

The view looking downstream towards the bridge.

We don't get floods of this magnitude very often. The last major flood was in 1997. I can remember the flood wall leaking at one spot, threatening to submerge a large section of town. They used sandbags to prevent it from happening. This time around seems to be a bit more dry on the city side of the flood wall.

I will update again tomorrow evening! Stay safe everyone :)


t1rsz_1rsz_my_post.jpg

Be sure to come back for more stories and photos! Follow me @bristowboy


Storm spotter for the National Weather Service office out of Louisville, Kentucky.



Amateur photographer, capturing as many of life's amazing moments as I possibly can. 



Proud former student of @markrmorrisjr and @dolphinschool. Feel free to check out both accounts as they are loaded with tips and tricks for becoming a more successful Steemian.

LIGHTING&PHOTOGRAPHY.jpg

Sort:  

Wow this is all so scary and what a tragedy for that mother and 11 yo. Please keep yourself safe at this time. If your late to work, OH WELL! at least you made it there safely!

Yeah it's perfectly fine for me to be late for work in this circumstance. I'm not a fan of going through high water that I'm not 100% sure about. If I come up to a small section of flooded road that's 40 miles from nowhere, I'll turn around and find a new path no matter how long it takes.

Yeah gotta do what's SAFE

I can't seem to get that family off my mind. I sent condolences to them and got some unexpected messages back, thanking me for getting in touch. Tonight was visitation, and tomorrow is her funeral. It's sad! I heard the kid crying and calling for his mom over the police scanner in the background as the emergency responders were talking. I donated to her gofundme to help with funeral expenses, it's the least I could do.

Fatal accidents aren't too common here in my county, but we had TWO that day. As soon as I woke up Saturday morning I was informed that my 22 year old cousin/next door neighbor had died in a horrible crash 5 miles from here, and then Saturday evening was the accident on the interstate. I think it hit me harder because my cousin had been killed earlier that day. I feel bad for both.

@bristowboy thanks for keeping us up to date on this. Pretty scary stuff you're dealing with ! Be safe !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54