You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: a question about photography

in #photography6 years ago

Not an easy question, as others have already mentioned.
I think there is not one answer to this. It all depends. However, I can make some humble random remarks:

Photo and text are a strong combination if done right. Your post about happiness is a strong example of this. The photo itself is quite simple but ok. The message makes it a really strong image to me.

A lot has been written on composition, so it is rather tricky to add something to it. However, I think that a composition should be clear and crisp, and support the message. Leading lines, the rule of thirds, negative space, etc, etc, are just some tools that can help to make a composition relevant. And I find it very hard to make this work all the time. Leading lines per se don't make a photo interesting. The photo that goes with this post has a lot of leading lines, but for me, it is not particularly interesting (and those white blobs on the left don't help either!).

A single photo is just on its own. A series of photos are often much more interesting. It's just too much for one single photo to carry the ideas and vision of the photographer. I like your feed for this reason very much: a consistent atmosphere and view that is shown in many photos.

Sort:  

it was my bad photo if the only diversity of my word made it great.
this image is about the life around us and i feel happy when i go with my camera and take a snapshots of this life - sometimes simple, sometimes even more simple, but i don't feel that i have to add a words about who is this man, or what kind of a fish is this catched one. I prefer to make a series then to explain the going around with a words. Both these images taken from the different series i always shoot and post in such way, but not here cos ppl on steemit, even they vote, even don't open the posts so i don't feel that i would like to be deeper. Absolutely different in my personal blog site, but we don't talk about this site right now. and thank you for your frank feedback, even i asked about something different but it's ok Jan :-))

btw, if you're interesting - this image is a part of my night photography series (one of them) - catch the light or photography exercises
http://www.victorbezrukov.com/catch-the-light-photography-exercises-4/

Thanks for sharing this link; I enjoyed this series. And now the image that goes with this post makes much more sense, and I definitely like it.

This illustrates the point that I tried to make with my remark on photo and text. It is not only the elements (leading lines, contrast, negative spaces, etc.) in the photo that determine how we appreciate and like the photo. The caption and elucidation are elements that determine what impression the photo makes on us, and whether we like the photo or not.

And for me, it also illustrates that a series of photos (when done right) have a lot more impact than one single image.

I hope, I made things more clear. Anyway, I like your series!!

"And for me, it also illustrates that a series of photos (when done right) have a lot more impact than one single image" - exactly what i feel last time. Thank you very much for taking a look on the whole series and for understanding.
As i said before - to post here series of images and stories is kind of time wasting, sorry for saying this but i do feel so.
thank you again for taking a part in conversation too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66256.41
ETH 2643.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68