Urban Birds of Paradise

in #photography6 years ago

2E3A5E69-3C14-4EBF-9792-770D656956D7.jpeg

This is a picture of the exotic Birds of Paradise plant with urban construction going on in the background in the form of a tower crane. I snapped this photo by my work office.

I tend to be drawn to photography that is breathtaking or starkly contrasting, as if the picture shows things out of place or unique.

To me, this image is a conflict between leisure and work - between peace and chaos. The birds seem like they are out of their element amidst the concrete and technological progress. You cannot tell from my picture, but the construction site was very loud with vehicles beeping, metal scraping and things being pounded – yet the birds were just chilling and doing their thing.

It gets me thinking that I need to take time to be like the Birds of Paradise occasionally – there is a time for work and progress, and a time for relaxing and basking in the sun. I certainly believe there is a place in life for both, and feel both are important, but this image is a reminder to me to look at achieving the right balance between work and leisure.

Thank you for stopping by,

Brian

Sort:  

It is one of the hardest things for us to do. Stop for just a moment and smell the flowers and take in the beauty around us. I know for myself this is all too true. With 3 kids, a house, coaching and of course, work. I will often say to my partner that if it feels like weeks since we took a break. She will always make sure that is the weekend that we don't have any running around to do and we get to enjoy a night of relaxing with wine.

Really interesting plant. I have never seen anything like it. I almost feel like there should be some sort of thorns on it.

My friend how are you ?. This image is a beautiful addition that I love how blue sky looks. And if you are absolutely right, it is always important to take time and relax outside of work, even if it is a few minutes they will be very valuable, since at work we are usually somewhat stressed and moving around here and there. So a time of relaxation, observing things as beautiful as that plant and the view of the sky, breathe deeply our air of nature and once we are calm and relaxed, to continue working. It is that, for this life there is time for everything, you do not have to kill yourself with a thing always being able to take a little time to open your mind and rest. I totally support you in that friend and then thanks for this wonderful post. Greetings to you and your beautiful family.

I liked what you mentioned about being more like the BOP. This post is a great reminder to keep all things together in perspective and not be so influenced by my surroundings. Inner peace is there if I can welcome it in...
thanks for sharing.

Pic was good sir bt i don't know more about botany

very nice flowers really.
@calitoo

Birds of Paradise are some of my favorite flowers... because they don't look like they belong. They're flowers, but they look like birds! What's that about? I think it's cool. I still remember the first time I saw them at a nursery and didn't know what they were. They've been a favorite since then.

The contrast of their peace and the clamor of the construction is stark. Gives you a little more appreciation for the flowers.

Nice photo,there is time for work and there is time for relaxing,we just need to make ways in which we can balance between work and leisure.

The content has written a lot of beautifully, you have given a post very well. I respect you.

This is how it should be taken or we should take some time to be with our families it is not good to work so much, I liked the image very much @brian.rrr

I like how you see the image between chaos and peace or would be estre the city and nature, but it looks very cool I liked the harmony that there is here, you do not have to work so much is so

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31