Icelandic Lichens in many size, colors and types

in #photography7 years ago

In Iceland, Lichens are in many size, colors, and types. The yellow one is the most popular and best known. But here are some others less known and often less seen because they are so small.

All these photos are macro photos, or taken pretty close, to show the small often overlooked beauty of Lichens.

Hvítur steinn skófir og mosi-MIX.jpg
This one is not exactly macro but taken pretty close, because I wanted to get all the many colors and different type that live together on this lava rock. As a comparison, this is a small white crystal stone also in the photo.

Fléttur fyrir framan riðgað járn.jpg
This is a completely different type and taken in macro where it grew on a rusty iron.

Macro Fléttur og mosi.jpg
Here is the same type as above but growing in heath and not thaken as close as the above.

Hraun-mosi-skófir-MIX-HDR.jpg
Here you can see what there can be many types and colors. All these species grow on one small lava rock.

If you want to see more of my posts, click on the #bragih hashtag

Sort:  

wow

Iceland lichen is good for coughing. When I was ill in the winter, I took Iceland lichen candy, and coughing ran away.

Yes, many of them are collected for home made medicine

great photography on nature's hidden beauty

Thank you Nzewi :)

thats really 👌 nice post i upvoted and followed you keep posting dude 👍 you can check out my blog upvote if u like 🙂

Thank you, Harry !

Ohhh pretties! That second one is awesome...
4 is more than enough :D

Lichens are alway pretty, aren't they? :)

Oh yesss :D and soft like velvet :) (at least some of them)

Great macros! I went to Iceland last year and loved it. Thanks for sharing these pics, these lichen look like they're on another planet.

Thank you! I looked at your photos and blog from Iceland, looks like you got the feeling and understand why I love my country so much :) But usually travelers tend to look too much up, well there is a lot to see there, mountains, volcanoes and so on. But I stick my nose to the ground, ther is a whole world down there. That is the 'another planet' world :)

Definitely, so much beauty can be found in the smaller details! Have you seen or heard anything about hallucinogenic lichen in Iceland, like Collema flaccidum or Collema fuscovirens?

No, I have not heard about them

Someone got the Mojo back! :D

Step by step :)

And next week I go traveling in Iceland to a place not filled with tourists and many great photo places. Then I hope to get it back, finally :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81