Look who came to visit me!

in #photography6 years ago

I love owls. There is something magical about them. A while ago, this small little fellow sat on a branch in our yard. I ran in to my house to get the camera and I was fortunate enough to snap some nice pictures. The owl wasn't afraid at all, it just sat there and stared, so I had plenty of time to photograph it. This was a wonderful experience and I hope I will get to see other owls too. Quite often you can here them calling nearby our house, but it's always harder to actually get to see them.

This is a Eurasian pygmy owl (Glaucidium passerinum) and it's the smallest owl in Europe. Females are 17.4 to 19 centimeters (6.8 to 7.5 inches) long, and males are generally smaller, measuring 15.2 to 17 centimeters (6 to 6.7 inches) in length. Females are about 67 to 77 grams, and males are 50 to 65 grams in weight.
Source

Here you can listen to Eurasian pygmy owls call/sound: https://www.xn--fgelsng-exae.se/sparvuggla/


Eurasian pygmy owl in Finnish: Varpuspöllö and in Swedish: Sparvuggla.
DSCN2762.JPG

DSCN2787.JPG

DSCN2788.JPG

DSCN2769.JPG

DSCN2768.JPG


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!


Sort:  

Awesome post! Beautiful and remarkably small. I thought the ones I saw in Brazil were small. I was fortunate to visit Florianopolis - Owls are the Island symbol. The lived in little holes in the ground and were everywhere and quite the predator scooping up rodents late at night. There were always watching us...although small they were quite intimidating (possibly due to our late night drinking).

IMG_0908.JPG

It's very beautiful indeed!
That's crazy! Living in holes in the ground?! :D
Am I right, that it's a "Little owl" in the picture? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_owl

Aww, she is cute! We also have several owl species in the Czech Republic but I have only seen them flying high above my head, never sitting on a tree like this. Amazing capture Borran - that would make an excellent entry for Monday´s animal photography contest :)

Yeah, it's really difficult to see them. I was very lucky! :)..Owls are incredible animals!
It would be an excellent entry indeed, but I can't post the same thing again. That would be spamming? Don't you think?

Well, it depends... I would have no problem with seeing this beautiful animal on your blog one more time :) Maybe next time, when you get an amazing wildlife shot like this one, wait until the next Monday :) But I can understand you were just too eager to share this cutie with us, werent you :D

I just saw one too last night! It's so beautiful when you see it by yourself and not through pictures 😊
But I love how you captured the beauty of the owl, well done! 💚

Cool! Did you see what kind of owl it was?:)

Unfortunately I have no idea 😔

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @borran.

You got a 2.56% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @borran!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I like your post thank you for following me and thank you for sharing me I am waiting for your next post

Hoot hoot!

What kind of lens were you using? Those are really nice looking photos of the owl.

Did you know, you can make bird houses to owls too, not only to "normal birds"? I'd love to build a bunch of bird houses and get some owls living there.

Hoot hoot!
My camera is a Nikon Coolpix P530.
Yeah, I have heard about it! It would be awesome to have owls living in your own yard! :D

Do you have an own yard though?

Oh that does have serious zooming capabilities. That's really impressive.

Yes, I have!
The camera is great for zooming! :)

He looks so cute. I love him too. You both are lucky to see each other.

Yeah, Owls are increcible creatures! And cute! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75