MORNING WALK THROUGH THE CITY

in #photography5 years ago

Earlier this morning I went to the city. Pula. The nearest city from my house ... and the only real city on this peninsula where I live. There are a few more places that people call a city, but I don't feel there like in some city. Actually, I barely feel like that in Pula. It's a small city. 40 000 inhabitants. Approximately. In the last few years I go there only when is time to change the books in the public library, I'm definitely more a county or woodland type of person, even the small cities are not the places for me.
IMG_7381.JPG
But I like books,and so I sat in my car and drove the 10 km to this city place.
IMG_7380.JPG
I parked at he outskirts and decided to walk to the center, where the public library is. And along the way, of course, I took some pictures with the new camera with very good zooming capability. Little morning details that caught my attention. Like these tho pots with some succulent plants, high on the upper floor balcony, on one of the building surrounding the parking lot.
IMG_7382.JPG
The sun was rising and I enjoyed watching the early light in the mirror windows of the big building of one of the many insurance companies there. Insurance companies buildings in Pula are new and optimistic, glass and mirrors, like something from the land of Oz, while the Hospitals are old and depressing. Sometimes this contrast makes me sick. But the glass buildings are nice. Especially early in the morning.
IMG_7386.JPG
More to the old center, I encountered this lovely balcony. I like the city balconies. They are on the border between the private interiors and the public open spaces in the city and often you can catch interesting details on them.
IMG_7388.JPG
In the center I encountered a cat that was watching the closed pet shop window like some large TV.
IMG_7387.JPG
There were some little two dimensional dogs eating the dog food on the posters, and the three dimensional cat was watching patiently the frozen image.
IMG_7390.JPG
Then I passed through an empty square, one of the largest in the old city. You can see a Roman
triumphal arch in the center of the picture. Pula has a solid number of these impressive pieces of ancient architecture.
IMG_7391.JPG
After the square and a few narrow streets ...
IMG_7392.JPG
... I passed by the old cathedral ...
IMG_7393.JPG
... the oldest parts of the building date from the 4. century ...
IMG_7394.JPG
... but there are many layers and attachments added through centuries ...
IMG_7395.JPG
I walked that way many times, especially back in my school days, but only this morning I noticed this thing about the windows. In the line of upper windows, near the rooftop, every window has a different ornament.
IMG_7401.JPG
After the public library I walked by the sea, where a few people were fishing in the port, near the shipyard.
IMG_7406.JPG
And I photographed some details of the large administrative building of the same shipyard. This bearded face that remind me of Poseidon.
IMG_7407.JPG
And this star and anchor relief.
And that's it ... I went to a cafe bar, where I met a friend that let me use his laptop to do this post :D

... as always in these posts on Steemit, all the photographs, that these days I upload directly from the camera for quick posts from friend's laptops - are my work. Have a good day ... or night ... wherever on the planet you are.

Sort:  

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Even if you prefer to stay away from the city, it is really beautiful. I love the old buildings. And the cat is too funny! Thanks for the early morning tour!

:) I will go more often now... in search for a new post. To break a bit the insects & flowers entries.

😁 The cat outside the shop, waiting for it to open: Must do some groceries. Meow.

Posted using Partiko Android

:D Early customer. A classy cat with some money is the best thing that can enter in a pet shop.

yeah, i really liked that one too :)

Be it creepies, crawlies or cityscapes, you never fail to entertain no matter what the subject matter.

:) Thanks. Glad to hear that these things have entertaining effect.

I ended up here because someone recommended you on a markymark post. I'm glad they did. You have a good eye for pictures and the story told between them is a nice touch. I look forward to your work in the future!

Thank you :) Glad you stopped by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72