The creek in a countryside (long exposure shots)

in #photography8 years ago

Let me share with you today my first expirience of long exposure shots of the water stream


I always liked the pictures of water on a long exposure. In these pictures the water turns to ice like.

And I would also try to make such a picture.

One day I went for a drive through the countryside and photographed. I have already published the pictures of this trip here и here. My path passed through the bridge, under which flowed a small creek. Here is a photo of this creek from a bridge.


I had a tripod with me, and so I decided to do this experiment. I have no filters, so images came out overexposed at first. In the end, I thought of enable exposure compensation, and was able to get some shots.

To be honest I do not really like these pictures. Several times I was going to delete them. But then I decided to try to make them black and white versions. And I liked them more.

When I processed the pictures, them saw my son and a wife. They said that they like the color version.

So I stand on your judgment both versions.

How do you like these pictures? I'd like to hear any critique.

Which version do you like better? Color or black and white?


Color versions

DSC_6141a1f98.jpg

exposure - 1 s


DSC_61230b438.jpg

exposure - 1/10 s


DSC_612634926.jpg

exposure - 1/4 s


DSC_6190945eb.jpg

exposure - 2 s




B/W versions

-PRAVKA-7b4fec.jpg


-PRAVKA-55e9b4.jpg


-PRAVKA-48f932.jpg


-PRAVKA-6bb69d.jpg




Nikon D5000 18-55VR


Do you like this post? You can see more of my works in my blog @boddhisattva

If you like this short review of photos from my blog, you can learn how to make it here.
Thanks to @t3ran13 for this interesting tool.

Sort:  

Thank you! Glad to hear that 8)

I like the color version more.

Thank you @shieha! So they are not so bad? 8)

Well I think the photo with the log is the strongest photo, since it has a more obvious subject. The others I'm not so sure what the subject is so I'm a little lost.

Thank you for your attention! As I said, I didn't like them. The subject (for me) is a water stream which should looks like ice. And in B&W I tried to make the plants more dark, so they do not distract the viewer from the water flow. 8) That's why B&W is better for me.
In the photo with the log it seems to me that the log is not very well placed in the frame.
And as I said to @ace108, I'm waiting for my ND filter now. So I can practice with this style in future.

Stunning pictures !! I follow you!

Thank you! Glad you like it. You are welcome 8)

This is interesting. To me the 2s longer exposure makes the water looks calmer. I was expecting the opposite.

You cal look at @shieha 's pictures. I'm in love with this water smoothness effect. But it really hard to take a longer exposure shot with daylight. You need a an ND filter. @shieha wrote a post about it. I've already ordered an ND filter.

I follow @shieha too. :-) wonderful works.

How many stops of ND filter did you get?

I bought this ND2-ND400 adjustable filter

You will have a lot of fun with that!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76