Longing - A Poem & Photograph By blueorgy [SPC #48 - The Ocean]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1447_HDR.jpeg

Longing

A restless ocean,
captured in a moment.
A creature peering,
into the deep.
Inner thoughts,
resisting to inner force.
Stillness found,
amongst violent tides.
Longing for somebody,
unable to move.

By blueorgy


Click on Photograph to enlarge

I found myself shuttered up in the beach house watching the onset of a summer storm build up outside my window. The waves on the ocean ever growing in size and strength. So I decided to venture out on to the beach and try to capture the beauty Mother Nature was painting right within my grasp. My attentions were to try and photograph the ocean in wild glory and ended up following a gray seagull walking along the edge on the water. Seemingly unaffected by the current weather conditions he was walking and looking over at other birds perched on Flag Rock as they call it here. As I got closer, he did not seem to mind so I started to photograph him and wonder what was going on in the head of his? After observing him for a while he finally flow off but luckily, I had captured some great moments.

What emotions do you see in the photograph?

The Poem I wrote accidentally in a way. I was trying to come up with a good title for this post / photograph and as the title began top grow in length I realized it was forming something must more then a simple title. It didn't take me very long to write because the experience had many thoughts/ideas running through my head. I showed a few friends the photograph prior to posted it and their thoughts rolled into the poem as well helping me sculpture the moment into a written piece.

I guess I could continue to write more on this... but I'd love to first here your thoughts and reactions to the poem and photograph.

I will also share some of the other photographs in a follow up post , these will also be my other entries in the current Steemit Photo Challenge


Photograph Information

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 2.54.34 PM.png

Shot In 3 different exposure settings on the iPhone 7 Plus
light enhanced/corrected in Photoshop CS6
Brought Into Aurora HDR to combine and create final HDR look


Vote for @blueorgy as Witness

  1. Go to the witness voting page on SteemIt.com
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and locate the vote box (seen below)
  3. Input my name (blueorgy) and hit vote.
    Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 3.30.57 PM.png
  4. Rejoice in self achievement!
Sort:  

this was a satisfying read! @blueorgy

You've created quite the emotional and visual scene.

And I like that included info about the photography... Never something I thought of but it's a nice touch

Thank You very much! It was very beautiful and powerful in real life, these types of things are always hard to do justice with a single photograph, I think I was able to do so. I defiantly enjoyed wiring the poem and had to share the story of how the photo came to be.

Yeah I like to include the technical side as well when possible. Also make sure to click on the photo to see it larger, you can see the other seagulls/birds on the rock as well!

"The Poem I wrote accidentally in a way. I was trying to come up with a good title for this post / photograph and as the title began top grow in length I realized it was forming something must more then a simple tittle. It didn't take me very long to write because the experience had many thoughts/ideas running through my head. I showed a few friends the photograph prior to posted it and their thoughts rolled into the poem as well helping me sculpture the moment into a written piece." Dynamic poem building, how cool is that!

😎 Thanks @gringalicious! yeah sometimes the best things aren't planned. Sometimes I draw a blank and other times Its a flood of ideas. Going to scan through your blog as well looks interesting! I'll have to try and win over one of your witness votes as well 😉

What is in the mind of a bird? Or the mind of the sea? Immaterial thoughts that move as consciousness but are motionless in appearance. Thank you for the poetry!

Great observation and words. You're very welcome.

Lovely work. It's so satisfying to have your words and images inspire each other, isn't it?!

I see in this photorph that the see (nature) never sleeps, it always is moving. You can take a break...watching the see, knowing life want you to move...but it will also move without you.

Very nice @bronkong. Do you see the seagull with any emotion? I am wondering what you think it may be thinking? 🤔

I think the seagull is resting, waiting for a sign/ emotion to move on...

I could see that.

Good photos are those which wake emotions or thoughts and this one is definitely good.

GOOD ONE BROTHER

man, you are doing a lot of stuffs. bots. poems :O You are a genious

🤓 I wear many hats thats for sure! Haha thanks! You should never limit yourself I always say, experience and do as many things as you desire! Don't be afraid to try new things! Then we can all be geniuses 😉

That is true man!

hermoso poema! @blueorgy tienes un seguidor nuevo ahora! vote please, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63