Spicy Egg Masala Curry

Good Morning friends! Iam going to share a recipe of Spicy🌶 Indian dish and I am sure that you all can easily prepare it.

Eggs are something that I do not cook very often in my kitchen, yet I always have a large box of it in my refrigerator. That’s because I use eggs all the time in baking so obviously I need a keep a big stock of it at home all the time. Also, sometimes we eat boiled eggs but that’s mostly it. Other than that, I hardly cook with eggs. Egg curry is a popular side dish made with boiled eggs cooked in onion tomato gravy.

22-59-31-egg-curry-recipe.jpg

This Indian style egg curry is favourable, flavourful, delicious, and goes well with rooti, naan, paratha or rice. Egg curry is one thing which I have always liked. I remember in my house, mom would make egg curry when we ran out of vegetables. She usually added potatoes along with the eggs in the curry. In my egg curry, I skipped most of the time the potatoes and added green peas.

I have been meaning to make this egg curry for so long and finally got around making it last weekend. Egg curry is quite popular in India and is made in several ways in different parts of the country. Some versions are very spicy! The recipe that I am sharing today is more or less of the egg curry that I grew up eating. Making egg curry is not really difficult.

Ingredients:
• 5 large boiled eggs
• 1/4 cup green peas I used frozen peas
• 1 tablespoon oil I used vegetable oil
• 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
• 1/4 teaspoon mustard seeds
• 2 cloves
• 2 green Capsicum finely chopped
• 2 medium red onion finely chopped
• 3 medium tomatoes pureed
• 2 green chili finely chopped
• 1 inch ginger chopped and then crushed
• 3-4 garlic cloves chopped and then crushed
• 1/4 teaspoon turmeric powder
• 1/2 teaspoon kashmiri red chili powder
• 1/4 teaspoon garam masala
• 1.5 teaspoon coriander powder
• 1 cup water or adjust to how thick or thin you want the curry to be
• 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
• salt to taste

3-Add-Fresh-Basil.jpg

Method
• Heat oil in a pan on medium heat. Once oil is hot, add cloves and peppercorn. Saute for few seconds till fragrant and then add cumin seeds and mustard seeds. Wait till cumin seeds sizzle and mustard seeds start popping out.
• Add chopped onions now and cook for 2-3 minutes or till they start turning light brown in color.
• Add garlic, ginger and green chili and mix. Cook for another 2 minutes or till raw smell of ginger and garlic goes away. Add pureed tomatoes and mix. Cover the pan and cook for 5 minutes on medium heat. Open the pan and add salt, coriander powder, turmeric powder, garam masala powder and Kashmiri red chili powder.
• Cover the pan again and cook for another 6-7 minutes. Once the tomatoes and spices are nicely cooked, add 1 cup of water to the pan. Add less water for a thicker consistency or more for thinner.
• Add boiled eggs, green peas [I used frozen] and mix. Simmer the curry for 5-6 minutes on medium-low heat.
• Add chopped cilantro, cover the pan and simmer for another 2 minutes. Serve egg curry with any bread of your choice. It also tastes great with rice. Using green peas is optional. You may skip it. You may add potatoes to the curry are you like.
• Adjust spice levels to taste. You may add red chili powder for a spicier curry. The Kashmiri red chili powder is used mostly for color.
• You may cut the eggs in half before adding to the curry.

Thank you for reading. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16