Thanksgiving weekend

in #photography8 years ago

So, this Thanksgiving, I decided to get away from it all. I actually went up to the Kern River, brought my fryer, and had a nice, relaxing Thanksgiving there. Just in case everyone has been wondering where I've been, I didn't really have service up there, so now that I'm back I can post.

This was my quiet fishing spot. The river, is actually quite low. It's the time of season. During the spring, and early summer, when the snowpack is melting, it gets quite a bit higher.

I had some company while fishing

Not such a great conversationalist, and I think he hindered more than helped, but he was a pleasure to watch

The cold, freezing water didn't deter her from wanting to jump in and immediately paddle around. She's always been a fan of the river, and keeping her out is an exercise in futility.

And now, dinner time. Not the best picture, but the turkey was delicious. I couldn't seem to get it in focus with one hand while I held the turkey with the other. lol I did kind of like the effect of the campfire glow off of it, though. I bought my propane fryer last year, for Thanksgiving, and I've been loving it ever since. Beside the fact that fried turkey is awesome, it definitely opens up the possibilities of where to have it.


And just one of my many, beautiful views, as I lazily crawled out of bed, in the morning.
I truly hope everyone that celebrated it had a great Thanksgiving, and remember what it is truly about. Being thankful for what we have. All too often we forget what it is we have, and how fortunate we truly are, and spend way too much time and energy focusing on what we don't have. Happy belated Thanksgiving to all my Steemians. Steem on!!

Sort:  

Sounds like an awesome time!

Beautiful setting, and no one else around... perfect! I would like to get a turkey fryer some day, too. I have never had a fried turkey but I'm sure it's delicious. Happy belated Thanksgiving to you as well.

Oh ya. I love it. You have to be careful with it. A lot of fires have started because people aren't sure how to do it, or just get careless. But, used properly, it definitely is worth the purchase

I have heard of people putting a turkey that is still frozen in a fryer and having it explode.

Ya. That is totally a possibility. What happens is, the super hot oil causes any water to instantly boil and turn to a gas. When that happens the volume expands tremendously, which causes the explosion. You have to make sure that your turkey is thawed, and dry before you put it in the oil. Oil and water never mix.

I would hate to learn that the hard way!

Too many have, unfortunately. lol. Thanksgiving, I believe I read somewhere, is the day with the highest ER visits. I find that odd. I would have thought 4th of July, but apparently, it's Thanksgiving. With Christmas, shortly behind. However, I don't remember the exact source to back that up, so for now, I suppose it's just heresay..lol

Looks like you had a great time.

It was a good time. Bit cold, but a warm fire and enough sweatshirts can take care of that lol

Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Love your photos and your dog.....sounds like you had a nice weekend. The turkey looks so good - I've never had a turkey cooked in a fryer. Yum!

Oh, I would highly recommend it. At least to try just once. Stays nice and juicy, not dry like roasting, and with the crispy skin....sooooo good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65