Redhead Australian King Parrot.

in #photography7 years ago

This beautiful bird is found all along the eastern seaboard of Australia, from Cooktown in Queensland all the way to Victoria.



THE KING PARROT

They prefer to live in heavilly-forested and humid areas. This particular specimen is easilly identifiable as a male by his bright red head, whereas females have a green head. I'm not a bird expert, so I'm not sure if the marks in the plumage are some sign of ill-health or disease, I hope not. It may just be some form of molting.

This guy was photographed at my uncle's property in western Queensland, and he seemed quite confident and inquisitive around humans. He landed on a branch near where we were all bustling about and watched us. Although he allowed me close enough for a photo, I still found it diificult to get a great pic of him. Regardless, I think these are a particularly beautiful bird, and I hope to see more on my next visit back home to Australia.


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

A truly magnificent animal, Sir.

That's a beautiful bird!

thanks, it is a really lovely bird

Fantastic animal, beautiful colors. Now you have a new follower!

thanks for following, I agree the colours on this bird are amazing :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13