Not so Northern Boreal Forest Birding Today

in #photography6 years ago

BLWA_8222.JPG
Blackburnian Warbler Setophaga fusca is one of the more special of the wood warblers, with it's orange breast and head stripes. Don found this guy high in a fir tree.

Today a birding friend Don Mairs took me to a little patch of boreal forest that was only a 70 minute drive from where I am staying in central Maine. Most of the boreal habitat in Maine is much farther north than this area, and I was excited to learn of this area as I visit Maine often to see family.

White Admiral_8180.JPG
This White AdmiralLimenitis arthemis was one of many of this species and lots of other butterflies all over the place today.

On one of our first stops we saw a Gray Jay flying between distant trees, a Maine first sighting for me. Too distant for photos. Shortly later we stopped at a clearcut area with raspberry vines growing, and heard a Mourning Warbler singing. I managed a brief look at a female but again no photos. This was a trip primarily to show me this new area, and I was really pleased to see both the area and several species of birds I'd not seen in Maine before. Here are a few of the photos I manged.

SWSP_8193.JPG
Swamp Sparrows Melospiza georgiana were singing and moving around the many marshy areas seen today.

DOWO_8176.JPG
Downy Woodpecker Picoides pubescens seen at the area where I saw the Mourning Warbler

PUFI_8229.JPG
The Purple Finches Haemorhous purpureus here in the east are so much brighter and paler in the white areas than I'm used to in Washington that I had trouble with the ID.

Let's finish with a really cool dragonfly. I believe this is a n Ebony Jewelwing Calopteryx maculata

Drqgonfly_8200 (1).JPG

Until next time, good birding. Steem on!

I am working to create a strong community of birders on Steemit. If you post articles related to wild birds, bird photography or bird watching please use #birding It will help us find each other, and support each other with upvotes, follows, and comments to help each other succeed. Thanks.

Sort:  

Downy woodpecker so cute :) he looks like lesser spotted woodpecker

I love seeing birds, dragonfly, butterfly, and damselfly! Especially the last shot!

This shows what @birdbanter happened to Ireland during the Ice Age. We were cut off from Mainland Europe a good bit before Britain was. Because of this we pretty much have fuck all wildlife and hardly any large mammals left. I think we only have 2 species of reptile.

que bellas fotos me encanta esas hermosas aves y el arrendajo que lindas mariposas

Nice Picture birdbanter ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=birdbanter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=not-so-northern-boreal-forest-birding-today


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 31.25 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 9.90% upvote from @upme thanks to @birdbanter! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67659.20
ETH 3773.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55