"So Called Education System In Nepal"

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

International Literacy Day:
From our early years, we are taught/pressurized/ forced to be academically sound, in fact, be the Number One student , when it comes to education. Of course it's quite something to be a bright student, but in my opinion, not Everything.

We normally confuse, academic excellence as Knowledge. Education is the medium through which, an individual gains perspective and not just excellency in grades. Knowledge helps us grow as curious thinkers, and seek for learnings that can be contributed back to the society.

Hence, on International Literacy Day, let us understand that, knowledge is present for us in our experiences, in real life stories that we read/see, in every picture that is circulated on social media from a distant village, in the tales of our grandparents and most importantly in our curiosity, because it leads us to Awareness.

PS: I'm still figuring out where can I possibly use that Algebra I learnt in school, in my life.
Photo taken in Achham District (Far West Nepal) Students of grade 8,9 & 10 sitting (quite literally) for their annual final examination, in an open field, on a cold winter morning.

21433470_1006797372796691_7398060216509530112_n.jpg-1.jpg

Literacy, is a person's ability to read and write. In Nepal the literacy rate is a whooping 65.9%. A little surprised? Well, that's because there's a twist here. Read this. Anyone, who can simply write (sign) their name (English/Nepal) passes off as a Literate. Wow!! Whoever came up with that grand idea is a Genius. Photographed these two trying to look into a senior classroom out of curiosity in Achham District.

21373358_1580104542011878_1263904692191100928_n.jpg-1.jpg

Thank you for your time!
@bindu

Sort:  

That algebra-1 you learned will be used on algebra-2, which will take you higher level, ultimately where you will do complex stuffs like calculus.. now you want to know where you apply those in life? Ultimately those stupid maths will guide you to write complicated programs which could even build something better than Microsoft, Google, Facebook etc.. or you could even come up with something greater than Newton or Einstein

Now the problem is not just in Nepal but mostly everywhere around the world.. I had many of those teachers who would treat me like a livestock and would do whatever it takes only to produce better "marks" at the exam. Well by that way I wont be able to understand much or gain creative skills, its just I have to read and read until I memorize and could fabricate the textbook on the exam script. Well thats how most education system works especially in Asian countries.

But then again, if you plan to go to any awesome University, not just Nepal but somewhere in a very developed country, they will ask for your marks sheet, not just on your creativity skills.

As for the final part, why those who can write their names are also counted as literate, well this is because by this way your country can get funds from international organizations and NGOs which are necessary to build better schools and institutes.

And if you have more confusions, I'm here to answer you.

nice post ,upvoted

Thank you!

great post, I needed 2 times to see the 2. pic proper, very good. They are climbing, but first I saw they are on the ground and looking into a whole. upvoted

Hehe! Thank you for your concern. Means a lot to me

Each educational system has some disadvantages...

Yes it has. I agree with you sweetheart

Very nice post friend @bindu

Thank you!

You are welcome my friend

I am glad to find you! I've been around but I never made it to Nepal. Now I can travel virtually through your articles 🙌🌺

Wow lovely! I wish i could put a little effort to do this. Thank you for going through my post. I am glad to see you here. 😊

I've been away for a long weekend but for sure I am looking forward to read more from you.

And i think nepal ko chor neta haru lai kei farak xaina....and i feel like the most illetrate persons are the nepal politicians......

Totally agree with you. Thank you for going through my post

Good content
Upvoted with 5% voting power
Keep blogging

Thank you so much! Means a lot

This is really sad....students are supposed to conduct learning in a conducive environment

Yes exactly but unfortunately they are not getting such sound environment. And we are helpless

We easily forget that education is sometimes still a privilege. Thanks for sharing this @bindu

Yes exactly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80