My Life: Country Edition

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

barn.JPG

Hey what is up Steemit! Your boy is back with another post. You see a couple of years ago when I joined Steemit I mentioned how I had a ranch and I was about that "Country Lifestyle", but I never really got in depth and introduced y'all to that part of me or my critters.

So my family and I own a ranch down in Southeast Texas. What's cool about this place is that it was my childhood. Since about the age of 5 I remember spending countless hours there. If I wasn't riding 4-wheelers I was petting the pigs, if I wasn't petting the pigs I was riding horses lol, life was so much simpler.

Our ranch was previously owned my a family friend. We were always visitors, but on October 19, 2012 that all changed. Our family friend passed away, and in his will he left the ranch to my family. Pretty much from that point on my father and I took over all the operations of running the place. As of late with my father getting older I've had to take full control of "Rodriguez Ranch" by myself. At times it isn't easy, but the one thing that makes it all worthwhile are my "Friends" I get to see out there daily!!!

Here are my Buddies:

betsie.JPG
This is Betsie!!! She is probably the sweetest, friendliest cow that I own. This is probably because when she was a calf her mother gave birth to her in a cold icy puddle. When this happened my sister, father, and I picked up the cow and put it in our heated ambulance we have to get her temp back to normal. Betsie as well as the other 9 head of cattle that I have are Santa Gertudis cattle mixed with Hereford Bull (hints Betsies and her curly white face).

Here is "THE DADDY" to all the cows including ma baby Betsie....and of course me in the pic lol:
hereford bull.JPG
100% Pure Breed Hereford Bull

These are 2 Jennys (female donkeys) that I own...Steemit meet Pearl (full white face) and Sue (white nose)!!!!
pearl.jpg
The whole reasoning for even getting these 2 cuties was to protect our cows. You see they have natural instincts to do so. One of our cows got attacked by a bobcat...made a couple of calls and the next morning BOOM!!! Pearl and Sue

We now have a total of 6 Horses. 5 of them are Quarter Horses, and the 6th one in a Welsh Pony.

Misty (welsh): She is a 10 Year Old Mare (female)
inCollage_20180204_225613114.jpg
Pictured are my little sister and Nephew

Zippo: 16 Year Old Gelding (male)
zippo.JPG
Zippo is the oldest Horse at the Ranch(excuse the pink halter...my damn cousin wanted pink lol)

Cowboy: 12 Year Old Gelding
cowboy2.PNG

cowboy.JPG

Libby: 10 Year Old Mare
libby.JPG
Libby (dark brown) and Caramel (head on the right)
Caramel is not very photogenic lol, and we have a wild sway back horse named Sway...I don't like him and he don't like me...so he didn't make this post.

Ohhhhh I almost forgot about our last horse. I call him "WTF" cause when people see it they get scared and go "WTF is this that thing real!!!" ahahah
wtf.JPG

This is just a couple of more random pics of my cows
cows.jpg

Lastly we have our Rabbits. I now have close to 50 Rabbits. Make a long story short i was supposed to separate all the males from the females...well i accidentally left a male in lmao!
IMG_0845.JPG

IMG_0846.JPG

IMG_0870.JPG

Here is a random couple of pics with me and the animals during Hurricane Harvy. Yes, i was feeding in croc shoes and at times barefoot. I mean whats the use when we had so much water lol...shoes were pointless
me.jpg

Well that about wraps up this blog post of "My Life: Country Edition"! Hope you guys enjoyed and be on the look out for future posts and you can also catch me singing for the Steemit Open Mic Challenge Week 71

please upvote, comment, subscribe, or resteem

Sort:  

What an awesome place. Love the huddled bunny pic. I bet that they're conspiring against the pigs. LOL! Thanks for sharing!

hahaha....yeah I have so many food bowls for them to eat off of and they eat at the same one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70