The entrance to the middle of the earth 🌏 📸

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

“The call of love sounds very hollow among these immobile rocks.“ - Gustav Mahler

image

These black rocks are part of a solidified lava tongue of the Snæfellsfökul. It’s a glacier-capped stratovolcano, which lies on the peninsula that was named after it - Snæfellsnes.

image

It‘s one of the best-known volcanos in Iceland 🇮🇸. Not least because of Jules Verne‘s book 📚 „The journey to the center of the earth“. In this story, Snæfellsfökul serves as the entrance to the path that leads to the center of the earth 🌏.

We searched for the entrance - unfortunately, we haven‘t found it. But at least we got the chance to explore one of the lava calves which gave us an impression of how it might have felt to be professor Otto Lidenbrock and his nephew Axel on their spectacular journey 😊.

image

Here are some of my pictures I already posted on Steemit:

➡️ Monochrome Beauty
➡️ Love ❤️ and sunshine ☀️
➡️ ‍If the mountains are calling, you got to go! ⛰

If you like my work please follow me: https://steemit.com/@bibirider

Sort:  

very beautiful view this one is soul touching i loved this one

Thanks a lot @ahsanbukhari for you nice words!! :)

Thanks for this beautiful respond Dear i followed you Follow me back @ahsanbukhari

My pleasure. I follow you :)

Nice post brother

Nice post, sister... ;) Thanks for your comment, @victorlovesecret

You are highly welcome @bibirider

Incredible looking place thank you for sharing I love Iceland!! One of the most beautiful places on the planet

Hi @stiggy. I am happy that you like it as much as I do :)

It’s a beautiful place

That really smart talk, I implore you to be the next, thanks

entrance to the middle earth .

Reminds me of LOTR 😁😁😀

You a big fan ?

Hahaha, I like LOTR a lot!! You the title reserves to Jule Verne's "Journey to the Center of the Earth" - which is an awesome book too - btw ;) Thank for your comment, @arutynwa!!

😁😁😍😋😋

Now following you 😊

Hehe, thanks a lot :)

Even though the first image is a landscape photography, I think that the human figure in this image made an interesting impact to the overall picture. I enjoyed this series, allow me to feature the first image to the "People" category. Cheers!

Thanks for contributing to the #photocircle tag

@photocirclye, that's exactly been my thought sorting out the pictures from that trip. :D I am happy that you liked the series. Being featured by you would be a GREAT honor for me! Thank you so much!! Have a great day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92