Papa Pepper Combo Contest #2 Entries

in #photography7 years ago

It turns out we can enter the contest multiple times. I've narrowed the results of my photo shoot on the 28th down to 3 entries and one I'm sharing just because. I don't have species identified. I'm a little overwhelmed right now and not up to the research, although I wish I was. Unfortunately I had to discard huge numbers of the shots I took for focus issues. I suspect a combination of visual disturbances from my migraine and handholding with insufficient shutter speeds because the clouds moved in on me. I had hoped to get back out but the only time we had sun, I had to be somewhere else.

I wanted spiders... and I found some... but most weren't with enough plant to qualify and I'm not fully happy with focus and proof on those that would. So here we go in random order.

shieldbug.JPG

ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/250 sec

IMG_8271.JPG


This one isn't as clear as I'd like because of the size and shutter speed we're dealing with. But I caught flies mating on heather, so I thought it worth entering because of the unusual subject.

fluer8206.JPG

1/80 sec, f/5.6, ISO 200.

fluer-proof.JPG

Because the flies are so tiny, I added a red circle showing where they are in the shot. They're there if you zoom in well. Next time I need to make a small sign so it is easier to get closer in shot.


And my third entry is again from the garden. Pollinators in a pumpkin blossom.

threebees.JPG

1/100th sec, f 8, iso 400. The clouds were out full force at this time, so I had to up the iso to get a decent depth and shutter speed.

IMG_8049.JPG

I hope this proof is sufficient. The bees were too fast to get proof with all three in there.


My final one that I'm not entering... just because it looks neat with the coloring. I don't feel the focus is sharp enough to enter.

greenbug.JPG

1/40th, f 10, ISO 200. No wonder it's not so clear (Handholding 300mm zoom).

IMG_8176.JPG

Sort:  

my favorite is the 3 little bumble bees busy doing there thing.

Like the first one with the stink bug. Don't scratch!

I like that one also. Took a zillion tries and the signage was obnoxious.... Just took another allergy pill to stop the itching. They swell as well as itch. So I will soon be loopy again.

Very nice entries and I'm glad you had so much variety!

Thank you! I have a blast with them despite the mosquitoes!

I failed to mention in all this that the day after the shoot we found I have at LEAST 16 mosquito bites for my trouble. I spent one day totally doped out on allergy meds, since I don't react well to skeeters. And I keep having to treat them today as they itch like crazy. Maybe next time I will remember long sleeves and something besides holey plastic crocs on my feet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82