Entry in Papa Pepper Combo Photo ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

So a few days ago I saw that Papa Pepper posted a photo challenge, where you had to have a picture with an animal and a plant together. Our weather has been very stormy, but I finally got a short break yesterday to head out with the camera.

It turns out that the really hard part with this challenge isn't the critter with a plant. It's the proof that you took the photo yourself and that it isn't an old photo!! I got a bunch of neat bee, wasp, and butterfly pictures that I can't enter, because I couldn't get a pose with the signage!

I finally staked out some flowers with my sign clipped to the plant and got some decent shots. Some of those I couldn't use, because the wind flipped my sign so it wasn't readable. But I ended up with this.

croppedentry.JPG

This picture is cropped but has had no other editing.

Here's my proof.

signage.JPG

The only thing touched on this one was I renamed the file. No editing at all.

For anyone who wants to know, this is apparently an Admiral butterfly (Vanessa atalanta). My husband the Dane thought it was something else, but after I looked those up we don't have them. Not often anyway. I still need to figure out what our other regular is.

So I mentioned bad weather. It was thundering like crazy when I took all these pictures. Still hoping I'd find a spider to photo--I have a thing for awesome spider shots--I headed across the road into the beginning of the local dune plantation. Seeing as I ended up wandering around in the heather and grasses on the small inland dunes with nothing but a pair of cheapo crocs on my feet, I'm lucky I didn't meet one of our local poisonous snakes.

I did find a spider--two of them actually--but not enough plant to qualify for this contest. Sharing one for fun. Those of you scared of spiders, run far away and don't scroll down (I made the mistake of sharing on discord and freaked a few people out).

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
spider.JPG

By this time the storm was worsening, so I didn't have decent light for handholding closeups with my zoom lens and no flash anyway, so I grabbed a few shots of the threatening sky (a 70+ zoom is not ideal for sky shots in Denmark) and headed back inside. I made it in only moments before the rain hit. Our storm-scared border collie immediately glued herself to me, so I think I had stayed out too long.

storm1.JPG

storm2.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this little story of my adventure with this contest.

Finally, here is the totally unedited version of my entry, just in case my cropping isn't acceptable. In the lower left corner you can see I seriously need to get my camera cleaned. I finally found somewhere that might be able to do it, but last time I tried to take it in, the guy I had to see had gone out, even though I'd called ahead to confirm he'd be there.

original.JPG

Sort:  

You must have had to have a few "@bex-dx" cards around to catch this... :-) nice shot.

Just the one actually. I have a few photos that could have been usable in different posings---another butterfly type on a yellow butterfly bush and another of this type sunning on a tree where my hubby managed to sneak the sign in without freaking it out. But it did take a while staking out the plants. I tried another small moth elsewhere but it flew away when I tried to clip the sign onto its plant... as did the butterflies that were for some reason attracted to the drying red onions (although I'm not sure those would have qualified anyway since they were picked)

I love macro photography, tho I'm no expert. Would you call this macro? Seems like it to me - the extremely blurred background and fine, small detail. Love it!

Yes, but on the outer edge ebcause of my lenses. I don't have an ideal macro lens. I use my zoom, which leaves me a 1.5m focal distance. But I get better shots with this than my smaller lens. Maybe some day I will have enough steem to get a better macro setup. I also use natural light only.

I forgot to include a link to the contest. Please check it out here https://steemit.com/contest/@papa-pepper/a-combination-photography-contest-from-papa-pepper and take a look at all the awesome entries!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37