[PHOTO DIARY] The John Muir Trail (A 20 Day Backpacking Trip in California)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

If this sounds like a crazy persons idea of a good time, you will be surprised that people enter a lottery to get a permit to do this trail.

And if you become convinced after this post that you must do it, Bear Foot Theory does a great job explaining the permit process and planning.

I completed it this Summer and can safely say that it has made a through-hiker of me (aka someone who completes long-distance trails end-to-end within one hiking season).

Check out some out some photos and stories from the trails.

DSC07199.jpg
DSC07151.jpg
DSC07261.jpg

We started in Yosemite. It was here that it set in why I love backpacking: it never feels like you are just waiting for the destination. You don't just show up, take a photo and go home. You are living and breathing each moment, trying your best to take in the whole experience; the whole view from start to finish.

DSC07333.jpg
DSC07410.jpg
DSC07725.jpg
DSC07344.jpg
DSC07945.jpg

On this day, we looked at the map, said “yup, this must be Patricia lake”, and set up camp, swam, and had the best day ever enjoying the sunshine. We saved a campsite next to us for some friends we had met, but other than that, we were the only people who stayed here. We thought it was weird until we walked probably 20 minutes the next morning to get to the actual Patricia lake. It was much bigger and dark deep blue, but crowded with campers. I think i enjoyed our little “mistake” and should make it more often!

DSC08003.jpg
DSC08081.jpg

This Sunrise was the highlight of John Muir Trail. We were up at 1:30am to pack our gear. We climbed Mount Whitney and made it to the "shelter" pictured at 5:30 am...WAY too early for sunrise. We spent an hour shivering inside the hut since it had no door! I was happy to have my friend to cuddle and we welcomed the stream of people entering the small space, making it warmer. As light began to peak through, it was so rewarding. We went to check out this sunrise with our sleeping bags wrapped around us and huddled together not being able to think of any conversation but about how cold it was...I'd say that was an actual brain freeze and so worth it!!

DSC07841.jpg
DSC08069.jpg
DSC07680.jpg
DSC07614-2.jpg

Now that I am back, I miss the oatmeal and cold mornings, the power bar breaks with the best conversations; I miss complaining to my friend, Alison, about the extra miles to find the perfect campsite (and then thanking her later). I miss the relief of the backpack coming off after a long, tiring day just as much as putting the backpack on each morning, feeling our bodies getting stronger. Three weeks backpacking through the California Sierra's has forever changed me and I know the experience will be a forever favorite.

I'm doing 30 posts in 30 days (this is post #6) so please follow along!

Sort:  

Wow hiking must be really adventurous and enjoyable....I love all the pictures

Hiking has become my favorite past-time. I enjoy discovering beautiful places, even if they take some effort!

20 days of hiking sounds just like a dream to me. :-) And doing it in such a surrounding, no surprise that people enter a lottery for it!

Thank you that you added some context to the pictures!

Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to give climbing, alpinism and hiking a plattform here on Steemit. It is curated by @HaTo.

Yes, I think I am addicted to hikes of longer durations now! Thanks so much for the feedback and resteeming the post.

I love what your account is all about!

You're welcome!

Thank you, it's nice to here that. :-) But it's only working because you and other people write good stuff about their amazing adventures!

wow i love the beautiful pictures you have shared but how i wish you shared some stories behind them.

with love. keep on steeming

Thanks SO MUCH for the feedback. I am happy to sprinkle a few stories into these "Photo Diary" posts.

I actually decided to add some stories/thoughts to THIS particular post:) Thanks again!

I had three girlfriends hike the JMT together in September. SO much respect for your adventure... It is BRUTAL. Congrats and keep exploring!

It was worth all the uphills and weather craziness! I bet they have some incredible stories! Thank you!

Very nice pictures.I like so much. Thanks for sharing

Thank you so much! Means a lot!

Absolutely stunning photos - what an amazing hike!!! Those flowers are beautiful !!
Following you

OMG thanks! It was so spectacular. You really get to see so much of California's backcountry.

Wow, awesome trip and amazing landscape! That place looks so beautiful!

Thank you! I got to realize how many beautiful national parks there are in California. Yosemite gets all the hype, but there so many other beautiful places not too far from there!

These are stunning pics. I have only been to Venice beach and Palm springs...I want to check more out now! I came across this post after clicking on a "like" I got today and following two people that That person followed...so I followed right into following you and the awesome pics. My fave image.png

That's amazing! I always like checking who other people follow. It's a great way to find people!

Thanks so much for the compliment. It was such beautiful scenery, I struggled to make my camera batteries last the trip!

Awesome post! I love it!

Thanks so much! It means a lot!

Seriously this blog gave me goosebumps and John Muir Trail is officially on my bucket list. Thank you for sharing!

WHAT! That is the best compliment! Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50