SOUTH KOREA #2 /Original photography from HAHOE Folk Village UNESCO World Heritage/

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The Hahoe village is a small authentic old Korean style village in Andong.
It is a traditional village from the Joseon Dynasty. Because of the fast modernization of South Korea, there are not many places one can observe such architecture and also very tribal sculptures made out of wood.

South-Korea-43.jpg

The first impression coming close to the village is the aroma in the air. At the beginning of the village there is a river full of lotus blossoms. The Nakdong river flows around the village in a S shape, which gave the name of the village (Ha means river and Hoe turning around)

DSC_0040.jpg

South-Korea-45.jpg

South-Korea-51.jpg

The wooden sculptures remind me of the North American native totems. Those in Korea are for protection & fertility.
South-Korea-44.jpg

DSC_0004.jpg

DSC_0008.jpg

DSC_0020.jpg

DSC_0024.jpg

DSC_0033.jpg

On the highest area of the village stands a 600-year-old zelkova tree. As it is said that the goddess Samsin resides in it, the tree is called Sam sindang. Visitors write wishes and hang them around the tree.

DSC_0092a.jpg

DSC_0099.jpg

DSC_0032.jpg

DSC_0035.jpg

Some of the roofs are made with traditional Korean black ceramic. The black ceramic is very rare around the world. In another village I was lucky to observe how they prepare it, dig it deep and burn it with fire.

Shaman rituals were performed by shamans, puppet plays only by clowns, but the so called mask dance was done by performers from diverse backgrounds. The shaman rituals developed into colorful ritual plays and the farmers village festivals evolved into mask dances. The mask dance of Hahoe or Hahoe Talchum, has the most refined theatrical style among all village dances. It is performed during elaborate community rites that welcome the guardian spirits of the village, then send them off, and then provide post-ritual entertainment.

Close to the village is also a paper museum and factory. One can have a tour, look how they produce the paper, take a workshop in building masks and also buy hand made paper. I did all of that. The paper was amazing and the masks workshop very entertaining.

South-Korea-46.jpg

DSC_0179.jpg

DSC_0178.jpg

DSC_0210.jpg

DSC_0212.jpg
DSC_0044.jpg

DSC_0048.jpg

DSC_0049.jpg

DSC_0054.jpg

There is one stone wall with a whole inside. In the old days poor people in need could go there and get some money. Those who had enough or were rich would put money inside.

DSC_0057.jpg

DSC_0087.jpg

DSC_0084.jpg

DSC_0080.jpg

DSC_0079.jpg

DSC_0075.jpg

DSC_0154.jpg

DSC_0151.jpg

DSC_0230.jpg

I hope you liked my post;). I LOVE SOUTH KOREA. If you ever have a chance to go, don't miss it. After 5 trips there I can't wait to be back.
Thank you for your time.
Love & light
Bella
http://www.bella-volen.com

Steemit World Map: !steemitworldmap 36.579557 lat 128.777447 long Original photography from HAHOE Folk Village UNESCO World Heritage d3scr

Sort:  

Cheer Up!

  • from Clean STEEM activity supporter

Hi! Nice photos. I would to visit this place someday.

Thank you;). I am sure you will enjoy it;)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Really loved this one personally, it seems like a very unique place to me! More and more I hear beautiful things about South Korea, I may have to add it to my "I-still-need-to-visit-this-place-list", haha!

Thank you so much, this is great. I will be sharing soon more blogs from special places around the world. I was very lucky to travel a lot and see special places. I totally love the steemit worldmap. Such a smart idea to learn more about the world. Thank you, I really appreciate it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bella-volen-art
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=south-korea-2-original-photography-from-hahoe-folk-village-unesco-world-heritage


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

So I’m reading and casually scrolling through and then there’s the gian phallus! LOL! That jolted my mind. Good post (not necessarily because of the phallic statue though). Found you on steemitworldmap Digest.

Hey travelman, thank you. There were many more of those sculptures, I do have more photos of them but I was careful with that content. Also in Egypt one finds a lot of phallus symbols, they all were connected with fertility. In facebook such a photo will be reported, but here it is fine. I think from a historical point of you it is fine, it is a part of their tribal culture. I will be soon sharing more blogs about South Korea. It is really one of the best places to visit and I took many photos from many special places.

Yeah, I just found it funny. It was unexpected, but once I saw it, I was like, “Well, it makes sense.” The statues often have to do with fertility.

Hello, greetings from Colombia, I'm following you and giving like, I would like to see me and support me, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51