PHOTOGRAPHY AND WRITING / Clean Hands

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A CHARACTER SKETCH INSPIRED BY THIS PHOTOGRAPH

shop.jpg
I took this photo the other day in a small machine shop

CLEAN HANDS

Calvin’s pants are grease stained, cinched high on his waist with a black leather belt that is cracking and stretched like his budget. His red plaid shirt is tucked in and his sleeves are rolled up to prevent them from getting caught in moving parts of machines he uses in his shop.

A Sears and Roebucks pencil is stuck behind Calvin’s ear; whenever a customer asks him a question Calvin taps it in the palm of his hand. The eraser thumping his skin helps him to focus and listen, it helps him to think and give precise answers.

Calvin’ turns on the lights in his shop at the start of each day, then reads over a list of jobs he had prioritized at the end of the previous day. Calvin's list is varied, but he claims he can fix almost anything if it is made out of steel.

Calvin works patiently, it is something he learned in public school, along with the realization that those who have money and position have easier roads to success and are given special favors.

Calvin works hard and treats people with respect. He is honest and fair, looks all his customers straight in the eye, even those who show up in fancy business suits and complain about prices. For them Calvin patiently explains overhead and calculations for labor. He tells them, “Good Day,” as they leave, then wipes his hands on his pants.

Sort:  

Oh what a great way to engage a photo--very intriguing indeed @beginning to end. And btw, your post was at $2.34 before I voted. I love the magic of numbers. Thanks for making my day better.

Many thanks, I always appreciate your support and I am happy you enjoyed the post.

It's a pleasure to be here with you @beginningtoend. I love your creative spirit. <3

Great inspiration and determination is the word.

don't take it otherwise looks ordinary to me

You really get a sense of the character of Calvin from this. There was an Australian song from the 80's called working class man, with the line 'a simple man with a heart of gold.' Your writing reminded me of that song.

Thanks, I was trying to bring out the idea of success without being wealthy.

A wonderful post. Continue in the same spirit. I like and thanks.

You are welcome.

Congratulations @beginningtoend! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

cracking and stretched like his budget

Haha! Nice one!

It was a great story, and it's a wonderful photo, but I don't think I see the two together. As I was reading your short tale, I kept envisioning a different part of the machine shop, but the same shop nonetheless. But it's great! With only a few words, you managed to flesh out Calvin as a whole

The picture though, I kept envisioning three very startled faces, and one that's equally as startled but is hooked into a virtual reality device or some sort haha I love those plug face. Gets me every time.

You are probably correct in your assessment, I started with the picture and just used it as a spark to create some kind of character. In the end a photograph relating to soiled clothing would probably have been more appropriate. What I did like about this little write was its circular nature, starting with soil pants and ending with the hands that he wipes on them.

Yeah, that didn't go unnoticed. A veritable cause-and-effect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51