Getting Dirty in a Catholic Statue Maker's Workshop (original photos)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

In Atenas, Costa Rica, there is a statue of Christ that lies on the slab of a table, one arm broken off to a stub, prostrate and and in pain as if he is a patient in the ER and not actually The Lord Incarnate.  He lies in front of the studio of a famous statue maker, and I pass his workshop every day when I go to and from town. From the street you can see the statues he is working on, the Christs and Popes that are too big to fit within the workshop. 

But it wasn't until today that I stopped to take a look inside, and I was amazed at what I saw. I was planning to just photograph the outside of the studio from the street because I noticed that the morning light was striking the Pope just so. But as I was taking the photo the artist walked up with his little white fluffy dog and invited me inside to take a look.

What I saw was hundreds of statues, new and old, perfect and incredibly decrepit. Inside this man's workshop was a lifetime of work, and as I looked around he spoke proudly of the commissions he had had, the materials he uses (wood and marble) and he pulled out his phone to show me the his past work and press.

He is a messy worker, like I am, and his work space was littered with his tools, small pints of oil paints and discarded coffee cups. The entire place had that lovely smell of linseed and paint thinner. His work was incredible, reminiscent of another time and place and was perfectly executed. Thank goodness I was there in broad daylight because it was dusty and dark and there was a bucket full of Jesuses and other statues with missing limbs and faces.  It was a bit creepy in there.

The artists name is Orlando Carranza, and his workshop is here in central Atenas, Costa Rica. He is an incredible talent, and I am glad that I finally got around to stopping and getting to know him.

 

Melissa Michaud

Lifestyle Photographer, Bebecitos Fotos

www.bebecitosfotos.com

www.facebook.com/bebecitosfotos/

I take photos every single day of the year. See them at:

365project.org/bebecitosfotos/365

Sort:  

Wow
I just Love it
Steemon!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21