365 Photos in 365 Days: Day 226 Traffic in Costa Rica

Only in Atenas, Costa Rica, do you need to wait for an oxcart to pass before making a left turn. Some days I really struggle to find my daily photo, but today I was lucky to have my back-up camera on me when I came back home from dropping my son off at school. 

Atenas is a small town high up in the coffee mountains of Costa Rica and the oxcarts, or Boyeros, are a big part of the culture here. Traditionally they were used to transport coffee from the fincas up in the mountains down to the port town of Puntarenas for export. The system was modernized over 100 years ago, but the culture has not let go of the oxcarts which are still very functional for transporting everything from coffee to scrap metal across town and on the rough dirt back roads. 

Shot on my Canon G15 (my back-up purse camera). f2.8, 1/500, ISO 100. Edited in photoshop to increase contrast of the washed out jpeg by manipulating the curves (I usually have even my point and shoot set to RAW+jpg but for some reason it wasn't set today) and to burn the background to add emphasis to the subjects. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21