Wingsuit First Flight Course FFC Photo sequence

in #photography6 years ago

Several years ago I took my Wingsuit First Flight Course at Zhills, Florida (Skydive City).

Here are a few motivational snaps for anyone who is planning on learning to fly a wingsuit.

This was my instructor Travis Mickle (American Wingsuit Academy/Wicked Wingsuits) to my left monitoring my drills.

You can see my altimeter is on around 6,800ft. I was checking it in this photo, before making another practice pull, then actually pulling at 6,000ft.

1.jpg

Here was my exit, wings closed for exit to avoid a potential tail strike.

This is so important to remember, its easily forgotton by some jumpers. They won't just kill themselves if they hit the tail, they could take down the plane and kill everyone else on it.

Twin Otters are great jump ships and they have a high tail, which does reduce the chance of a tail strike slightly, slightly!

7.jpg

I spread my wings and got stable, to my surprise haha.

I am using a Tony Suits iBird, which is Tony Suit's entry level student suit.

8.jpg

Ok now stable, it was time for my to remain on-heading for another 5 seconds before making a left 90 degree turn, then check my altimeter, then do my first practice pull.

I close my leg wing and bring both arms in at the same time while tapping my deployment handle with my right hand.

6.jpg

After 2 practice pulls, I made another left 90 degree turn, which now puts us both back facing the drop zone.

5.jpg

We carried on this path so I could do another 2 practice pulls before deploying.

4.jpg

Check alti! 6,000ft, wave off (kick heels together), then pull!

9.jpg

Now watch Travis flip onto his back and fly away giving you the devil horns, what a cool mutherfucker!

Back at ya bro!

3.jpg

Passed with flying colours! (fuck, another pun, soz)

Even found my boys on the LZ walking back from their jump and bombarded them with information on how cool wingsuiting is.

15.jpg

Next jump on my own, sunset load, fuck that was rad!

10.jpg

Wingsuiting for life!

#skydive #freefall #terminalvelocity #skydiving #basejumper #skydiver #frothing #fullfroth #frother #adventure #life #adrenaline #extremesports #adrenalinesports #gopro #travel #rockon #summereveryday #summer #wingsuiting #wingsuit #aerodyne #tonysuits #phoenixfly #zhills #skydivecity #ibird

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55