My 6-megapixel camerasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A while ago I was making some back-ups and found pictures I took many years ago. I also found the first pictures I took manually. In that time I used an Olympus SP-500 UZ. It was my second digital camera and the first one that was not fully automatic. I could change the settings myself. With this camera I learned the basic principles of photography.

It was a 6-megapixel camera and that was pretty cool at that time. To compare it with today's standards, a Samsung S7 has a 12-megapixel camera build inside. The camera on the other side (the selfie camera) has a 5 megapixel camera.

Today I take all my pictures in RAW format, so all the information about my pictures is stored in the file. Even after I shoot a picture, I can change certain settings (like for example the white balance) with programs like Photoshop and Lightroom.
My Olympus had also the option to shoot in RAW format, but at that time I did not understand the advantages of that. So I shot all my pictures in JPEG.

I photographed this dandelion in 2004. Because I took it in JPEG format, I don't have any information about the picture, only the date and the time. In that time I was studying to be a teacher. I lived in a big house near the beach in Noordwijk. It was the time of my life. A great place to learn photography.

in het veld 2 - 2005.jpg

Sort:  

very beautiful photo)))

Niceee! I used to have an Olympus sp510UZ. Good times :)

Great!
Here we say 'Paardenbloem'. If you translate it, you get 'Horse Flower'. Don't ask me why we say it like that! :-)

Seems you are close to Aken where I live.

I live in Haarlem, near the coast.

That is a nice place - just 260 km away

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55