The Mid-Atlantic Ridge: Iceland (Daily Photo Journal)

in #photography8 years ago

I visited Iceland about two months ago. Iceland had many amazing sights, from waterfalls, to caves, to mountains, to glacial fjords. It was shocking for me to experience 21 hours of sunlight everyday which actually gave me a kind of manic energy.

This is one of my favorite pictures from the trip, of me standing in the Mid-Atlantic Ridge. For those of you who don't know, this is where the Eurasian and North American tectonic plates touch. They are moving slowly apart allowing lava to come up and create these beautiful igneous rock formations. If you look closely you can see me!

Sort:  

That is a cool looking rock formation :)

Someday i suspect i will travel. It will be awesome when i do and ill proably bring a custom steem coffee mug everywhere and talk about it to locals in the mornings before i go play on rocks like that! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54