Artillery Firing Into The Clouds: Havana (Daily Photo Journal)

in #photography8 years ago

Artillery Piece At The Old Havana Fort


I love this photo, the clouds make it look like the artillery piece had just been fired.

This is the front of the fortress. It overlooks Havana and every night they fire the cannon three times. It's a historical ritual that used to signal the closing of the gates to the city.

Tons of military vehicles and personnel everywhere you go in Cuba, from artillery to tanks to destroyers on the bay. Here is a group of trainees who were exercising near the fort. You are never supposed to take pictures of military/police so this was a bit of a risky shot.

At many of the tourist sites there were strong anti-American vibes, I must have seen a dozen supposed pieces of debris from "imperialist" aircraft that were shot down in Cuban airspace although I don't think the Cubans ever took down an American bomber, but as they told me that's because "you don't know what really happened".

While I was in Havana there were a ton of Chinese Marines that stopped over in Havana for a week. Pretty interesting culture clash. By the way, I used steemimg.com to upload these photos - I highly recommend the site, it allows Steem users to have albums and doesn't have upload limits or fees. Kudos to whoever came up with this site!

Follow me for more great pictures and Steemit advice. I just made my first $25 on here and am always willing to help out any struggling Steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13