Day Trip to the Highland Mountains in Scotland!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I have been in Scotland for more than ten years, and when I regularly get caught up in the day to day details of my life, it is so easy to forget the fact that I am living in one of the most beautiful and mystical countries in the whole entire world!

I was reminded of this recently, when my children and I were invited on a day trip to Lochgilphead, which is nestled in the foot of the Highlands, where the scenery is both majestic and awe-inspiring.

It had been several years since I had visited this part of the world, and it is right on our doorstep - and only two hours drive from where we live in East Ayrshire on the South West Coast of the country.

This is a photo of us driving along just as we reached the foot of the Highlands. The mountains were soaring away to every side of us, and there was still snow coverage from winter on the mountaintops and the breeze was really cold!

We drove all the way from Kilmarnock to Lochgilphead.

We finally reached our destination which was a lovely little fishing village called Ardfern and met our friend at the local community centre.

Our friend lived in the hill above the township, and the views of the bay were absolutely stunning.

The children and I walked half a mile to the local village along the waterfront.

There were so many yachts moored there next to the small marina.

The wee township consisted of a quaint little pub and a few houses.

We spent the night there and on the way back the weather was fairly bleak for a wee while until the sun came out.

We stopped at the church in Kilmartin and the scenery was breath-taking.

I could have spent the entire afternoon there and the weather was cold but perfect.

It was one of the most beautiful eerie places that I have ever visited and I long to return again for more photos.

I can't wait to drive up here again in Summer-time and take more photos of this stunning countryside in this land that we now call home!

Sort:  

Great and redressing photos ! M too from Himalayan country so I love Himalayas. thank you for the post .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60248.53
ETH 3368.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51