Testing out a sub $80 75-300mm used lens purchased online

in #photography5 years ago

azfixmoonstack3.jpg

I have been meaning to get a lens good enough to do some stacked photos of the moon and I think I found one that should do the trick. Its a used lens, but everything seems to work fine and should be suitable for the projects I want to use it for. I ended up using only 20 of the 400+ photos I took of the moon for this stacked photo because of some user error on my side of things. This was one of the edits to bring out some color in the moon and give it a more epic appearance.

azfixmoonstack2.jpg

This next shot is blown up a little more but I was fairly happy with the test results so far. I plan to create an image with 200+ stacked images in the future but for now this is just a test of the new to me lens.

azfixmoonstack1.jpg

Another edited shot with color

azfixmoonstackorig4.jpg

Here is the original stacked shot before I did any color edits, a stacked photo with 200+ shots should bring out more detail and I plan to get one the next time we have a full moon.

Do you have a favorite?

Sort:  

Not bad for 80 dollars, i like the 2nd photo best

The price was decent and the lens in good shape

I like the color on the last one.

I cant wait to get a 200+ photo stacked shot, I should be able to make a more true color moon.

WOW! Excellent shots! I always admire your night photos; i.e. starry night, etc. This moon is really magnificent via your new lens and you edited the photos professionally. Well done! ;)

Thanks @tangmo I plan to get many more photos this year and hopefully try to improve the quality.

You're welcome! Ah! That's good news! I think, the quality of your works are always great.... I'm looking forward to seeing more photos soon.

Those are some nice shots of the moon! Cool.. Super detailed, maybe you'll get lucky and get a UFO flying by or something one of these nights. :)

I have seen some weird things in the sky at night, but most of it I am sure has something to do with our military.

Oh? That's interesting! I'd like to hear more if you have any interesting stories to share. And yeah.. Who knows if its our military or something else? I've seen many and have yet to meet any actual entities that I can remember, so who knows what they are!

dang 🔥i like the 3rd one, nice edit

Thank you, it turned out to be a nice experiment.

Awesome shots @azfix :-)
Nice to see some astro shots from you again!
I prefer the first image, the orange/rusty colored areas came out very good.

Thanks, I hope to have some better images with way more stacked images for better detail.

I'm very curious about how this will enhance the details.





Hey @azfix,
This post has been upvoted by the ASTROSteem curation team and curation trail.
ASTROSteem is a project with the goal to promote and support astronomical content on the STEEM blockchain. If you wish to support the authors of astronomical content and the ASTROSteem project you can get more informations here.

Thank you for the support! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95