Mount Lemon Arizona - Milky Way

in #photography7 years ago

While driving down from Mount Lemon I noticed the Milky Way and the light pollution from the city. I decided to capture this photo as a visual representation of how light pollution interferes with our connection to the cosmos. Arizona is fortunate to have the International Dark-Sky society located here. The way we light our streets and the type of lights we use have an important impact on how we see the sky at night.  


Some people in large densely populated areas with lots of light pollution have never had the chance to see the Milky Way first hand. I feel that we lose our sense of connection to a deeper meaning once we lose the ability to see the cosmos.

Sort:  

Wow great photography :) That is just beautiful :) I follow you :)

Thank you, I really appreciate that.
:)

Try living in the Pacific Northwest. There is, effectively, no sky in Seattle.

I know it, its not hard for me to imagine how many kids in big cities might never get a chance to see the Milky Way first hand. It takes a whole different dimension out of your life when you look up and can hardly see anything in the sky.

The middle of the Rocky mountains is the most amazing thing I've ever seen, so many stars that I couldn't even make out constellations. It's actually crowded up there.

Its hard to believe until you see it with your own eyes, whats also interesting is the number of satellites floating around. Its hard to see with the naked eye, but they often cross my photos when I am doing a long exposure.

There are swarms of them out there. Have you ever done any sky photography in the southern hemisphere? One day I will go there and see it myself. I have sky programs, and I've been to the planetarium, but the actual southern sky is something I haven't seen yet.

I was not aware of this type of photography when I was in that region, so unfortunately I have nothing from those locations.

It's really nice to see the milky way. cool.

Thank, so glad you like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22