Oregon Wildlife: The Beautiful Pileated Woodpecker

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

"In many American Indian traditions this bird, the woodpecker, is connected to the heartbeat of Mother Earth herself. The drumming of the heartbeat of earth has more than a few mystical connections. A couple that come to mind are the rhythms of new life to shapeshifting applications. Many a shaman has learned to ride the drum beats into a different dimension."
--native-american-totems.com

This woodpecker certainly showed up at interesting time in my life. I was walking along in the forest, asking for a sign that I was on the right path in life. The clouds parted and sun broke through the rain drenched canopy. I heard a noise and stopped in my tracks. My eye caught the sleek shine of feathers just as the sun found the same spot. I stood and watched as the bird worked a hole into the trunk. I unzipped my camera bag as quietly as I could, I didn't want to miss the opportunity and scare him away. Luckily, I was able to capture this shot before he noticed me.

All photography is taken by me; Awen Nuin. Each post is an original work. If you enjoyed my photos and stories, please upvote, resteem or follow me for more!

Peace and Love!

Awen /|\

Sort:  

Congratulations @awennuin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for your constant support and love for the cause! Great writing always sister you are so creative! Love to see trough your lenses! @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(0.5%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://native-american-totems.com/animal-totem-medicines/woodpecker/
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38