Come with me on a tour of the Nomadic Community Gardens East LondonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_20170603_190422-01.jpeg

The Nomadic Community Gardens are located in the hip, trendy and recently gentrified East London. There's a lot of graffiti and pop-up artwork on the streets of East London, especially around Shoreditch; it's a vibrant, creative and ever-changing region of London that I really enjoy exploring.

On one of those recent explorations, I stumbled upon a community that is unique, special and creative. I wanted to share my adventure and discoveries with you. Located close to the heart of London's business district, this community sits juxtaposed to the rigid, cold and uncaring tall, glass buildings.

Love and potatoes

The entrance to the Nomadic Community Gardens provides some more information explaining what the community is about: providing a safe, peaceful and fun space for everyone to enjoy - along with growing food in the hope of being more self-reliant.

IMG_20170603_191108-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_191035-01.jpeg

The art of recycling

Within the community gardens, there is a lot of graffiti and artwork/sculptures made from recycled materials: old tyres, wood, metal and other objects. Here are my favorite pieces of art.

Used tyres

This crocodile was one of my favorite sculptures - it's so life like and must have take a lot of time and effort to create.
IMG_20170603_185713-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_185729-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_185748-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_190314-01.jpeg

Metal

An epic, metal beast stands guard over the community gardens.
IMG_20170603_185831-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_190352-01.jpeg

Wood

This person riding a bull looks to be having a lot of fun
IMG_20170603_190322-01.jpeg

Graffiti

Graffiti is everywhere - it adorns most of the walls. It's such a vibrant and fascinating place.

The 'feature wall'
IMG_20170603_190228-01.jpeg

Relax and have a drink
IMG_20170603_191008-01.jpeg

Community

Throughout this creative and sprawling community, many people were taking the time to relax and enjoy themselves.

IMG_20170603_190214-01-01.jpeg

IMG_20170603_185910-01.jpeg

Gardening

Living off of the land and self-reliance seems to be a big part of this community - a lot of the space is taken up by different types of edible plants.

IMG_20170603_190029-01.jpeg

Leaving the Nomadic Community Gardens, from the railway bridge you can see how this oddball, ramshackle community, nestled beside a train track stands in contrast and defiance to the cold glass and uniform glass buildings of the nearby City.

IMG_20170603_191528-01.jpeg

I hope that you enjoyed this tour of what I think is a very interesting and special place.


banner.gif

Sort:  

Cool content. That is how I imagine a steemit community would look like 😂.

Ha ha, so true. The mixture of creative artwork, the community spirit, it being a little out of place against the existing infrastructure and beautiful in its own way. You're right - that's so steemit!

:) haha .. yes, pretty much like:

Ha ha, excellent gif 👍 😂

This is great .. good job .. I shall resteem. We too have community gardens.. :) I have never seen anything like this and to imagine it near London.

Thanks for the kind words @rebeccabe - I really appreciate the resteem!

Wow amazing art! The pictures remind me of Melbourne a lot!
Followed ;-)

Thanks @marcellus-wllace - I've never been to Melbourne (or Australia for that matter), but it sounds like somewhere that I would enjoy.
Thanks for the follow. I've followed you back - I look forward to reading more of your travel blogs.

Good art bro! followed

Thanks @byvt! Welcome to Steemit.

Congratulation @avarice
Very nice artworks - real special nomad garden there. I need to visit this place, when I come to London one day.

Thanks @blackwidow7.
I would definitely recommend it; a little off the regular tourist route, but a very unique and special place nevertheless.

That looks like an amazing place, @avarice. Thanks so much for bringing us this fantastic travelogue.

Thanks @dbzfan4awhile, I'm glad that you enjoyed my post =)

Really good post.... Love your photos

Thanks @ianstrat, I'm glad that you liked them. Not bad for being shot on a, what could be considered, ancient mobile phone =)

If it works why worry. Top man

Oh man, I would love to visit there!! Do people live there or is it just a hangout space?

I believe that a few people actually live there.

Hi..which part of London is this place?

The East of London - near Shoreditch, I've highlighted it on the map below =)
location.png

thank you..that is brilliant! that is near tesco i think.

Potentially, there are a LOT of Tescos in London =)

Between shoreditch and bethnal green i mean :)
Probably a nice walk from Bricklane..that I have to check ta!

This is epic!! I used to live near there, but it wasn't there then, well not that I know of. I will try and see it next time i'm in London :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41