Through the lens "My story in pictures"

in #photography7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemiens is that correct!

It is great to be here and making my first post, I have put together a small selection of my photographic journey for you to look at and hopefully enjoy. It really started back in mid 2000's when my work enabled me to visit Marrakesh and with that I purchased my first Digital SLR camera it was a Canon 300D. I went with Canon due to my Dad having an older film SLR and his lenses fitted.

What intrigued me was the ability to capture a moment and look back and be right there in that time again. I was hooked, my first shot that I truly liked was of an older gentlemen serving us our first serve of Mint tea in Marrakesh up in the Atlas mountains. As you can see I had a fair composition but my shutter speed was too low and I ended up with a blurred image oh well, I still like it.

IMG_0120.jpg

From here the camera pretty much went everywhere with me and I mean everywhere. I took photo's of everything and anything. That was the key to learning what worked and what didn't. What did I do well there and what didn't I do so well and so on. An example of what I mean is another favourite of mine and it is just purely clothes pegs.

IMG_0024_2.JPG

Animals did not escape my lens either, better to shoot them with a camera than something else I say. This is a picture that has always had people stop and take a second look, you want a picture to tell a story but not always be apparent but enough to draw them in. To look through an image and see what are you trying to show me here. This is a good example of what I mean.

Turtle Mud Bath.jpg

Through work again, I was given to opportunity to go to New Zealand and with this also meant a camera upgrade. I went for the in between what they call a prosumer camera the Canon 50D this was a big step up from the old 300D with the conference I was able to meet a few photographers that shot with film and how they tried to use light as the key to capturing the image and the subtle tones that light can bring. Plus the best tip was when you think the sunset is done, or even blocked by the cloud, just a wait a few minutes more. You may get something like this. Slow shutter hand held, just look at those colours mother nature put on for me, now you can also share this moment in time. (sorry small image doesn't do it justice)

_MG_5830.JPG

To give you another idea of the colours you may get with sunsets this is looking west from my backyard. It has been slightly enhance but only just and the reason I enhanced it is the same colours of my home AFL football team. The sun was well over the horizon at this point.

West Coast Colours_rsz.jpg

As part of my journey there was always experiments with Black and White images and how to present different tones, what was too much and when did I start loosing details (too bright or dark) also what images actually looked good as a Black and White image. I can assure you just because you make it B&W doesn't correct a bad photo. Though cropping might but that is for another time. An interesting photo of a building in my home town of Perth.

69 Milligan WEB2.JPG

Finally a photo of my hometown Perth Western Australia, one of if not the most remote capital city in the world. This is a couple of year ago, a population of about 3 million people so small to most cities. I hope you enjoyed a brief look "My story in picture" I have many more and look forward to your comments and rewards, votes if you felt this was worthy.

IMG_0123 pp1c.jpg

Take care everyone and happy snapping

Dale

Sort:  

Congratulations @auscrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59