Homestead Photography Contest - Garden Helper

in #photography7 years ago

I couldn't resist a chance to toss an entry in to the First Homestead Photography Contest being run by @knowledge-seeker.

Seeing as how I have no livestock, though, it's a bit more difficult to find a subject that would qualify. Tink tries to help with gardening projects sometimes, but she gets distracted too easily to be considered a working dog.

Then, I remembered the little helper I discovered in the garden when I was waging war on earwigs. He was hanging out between the zucchini and the tomato plant containers. Couldn't ask for a better patrol keeping those destructive bugs from getting to the crops.

I sure hope to see him again next season!

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Ditto! I'm hoping he has friends & invites them over this summer. ;~D

Yeah, while filming a tv show last summer, they filled in my pond. I had to go out and redig the pond. Im hoping our hoppers come back to their ancestral home pond!

Yeah, that would tend to throw things out of whack for them... Fingers crossed they've scoped out the renovations. ;~D

I really hope so. After marty filled in my pond the mosquito population exploded and the frogs would have kept them.down

The saying goes, "You build it and they will come." If it works for baseball fields, it should work for ponds!

i love seeing these little garden warriors! thanks for sharing.

Good description! Thanks for stopping by.

It was well-camouflaged! I had to look closely!

He was! That's why he got dusted with Diatomaceous Earth. I didn't see him at first. He moved when I got too close, otherwise I would've have overlooked him entirely.

Merry Christmas aunt-deb! Thanks for tapping @mother2chicks to try to come up with something creative from the homesteading challenge.
I would say the toad needs a partner in crime because it looks like he is about to explode! 🐓🐓

🎄 Merry Christmas, @mother2chicks! 🎄

You're welcome and I hope you have fun with it! Agreed on the the partner for toad - dude was huge - and there's more than enough bugs for 'em...

Great photo! I always like seeing frogs and others in the garden. Like you said, they try their best to keep pest in balance and provide many other benefits.

Thanks! He was/is a welcome resident.

I remember that little toad! I hope you see him again next summer, too! They do a lot of good work in a garden.

He was a happy surprise, indeed! I'll be on the lookout for him...

It never hurts to have a little help from time to time.

Exactly! He ate well all summer and we finally did get the earwigs to tolerable levels.

A perfect guard frog! Good luck in the contest.

Yup! If I see him again this coming year, I'm going to build him a little house. He works for food!

Toads and frogs are the absolute best!

Agreed! It's nice to see them in my suburban neighborhood, takin' care of business... ;~D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36