VIAREGGIO CARNIVAL - Story and Photos of a Italian folkloric event!

in #photography8 years ago

Hello Steemians!
It's my first post after some time away from Steemit... I hope you'll appreciate it and will read it like before!

Today, I want to share with you a short story about one of the most important event in Italy, and some photos related.

I am speaking about VIAREGGIO CARNIVAL.
Maybe someone of you know it or have already participated at this event, anyway here's to you a simple description.

The first parade is dated 1873. Today the Carnival of Viareggio is a great spectacle and it could be considered among the most beautiful and spectacular in the world.
Every year on Mardi Gras day (the Tuesday before the start of Lent for catholics) and for the next four sundays, some very big floats parade through the main street of Viareggio. They depict caricatures of politicians, public figures in general and also invented masks in paper-maché. The floats are made by local people and every years they are increasingly gigantic and more and more people are attracted to this event.
The carnival lasts one month and occur parties in the districts, parades also in the night, and various events.

I partecipated to the Carnival for the first time last year and I was really amazed about it. I walked for hours, taking pictures and looking around to capture emotions and interesting details.

Following the photos of the event:


I hope you like this post and that you will vote up it!
To verify my post, check my flikr page where you will find a link to my steemit blog!
Thank you Steemians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65